Can touch wiz be disabled??Support


Last Updated:

  1. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Anyone??
     

    Advertisement
  2. Smg

    Smg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    38
    No but you can use ADW Launcher instead which makes it look like a nexus.
     
  3. tonyjj

    tonyjj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure I read online that TouchWiz can be disabled?!

    If you disable or use ADW Launcher, does that mean you lose certain things like Swype text input? The only thing I want to get rid of is the iPhone-like UI with icons and dock at the bottom.
     
  4. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    No, you don't lose swype. Also, I use ADW and love it.
     
  5. Evil Peter

    Evil Peter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    11
    Does ADW Launcher support organizing apps and one click scene changes on the home screen and in the app drawer?
     
  6. tonyjj

    tonyjj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, so you don't lose Swype. What about these cool animated backgrounds I'm hearing about...do you lose that?

    And can you get themes that change how the icons look, fonts etc? Is that a strictly TouchWiz thing, or will it work with ADW launcher too?

    Sorry to sound so silly.
     
  7. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    mostly home replacements (ADW, OpenHome, PandaHome, aHome, Home++) just replace the HOME screen. they will allow you to get into the stock android settings as well. other than changing the home screen and app drawer they wont do anything to the rest of the ui.
     
  8. saj_2001ind

    saj_2001ind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    67
    LauncherPro is another good option, very close to HTC Sense UI experience with pintch to see all home screen :)
     
  9. DKYang

    DKYang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    19
    No, you don't loose live wallpapers. You can change icons by using an app called BetterCut. It's not free, but it is cheap.
     
  10. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    adw also has the htc leap feature with the 7 page preview. when you root, you can use different themes
     
  11. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    The touch wiz is fine with be but i want a touch wiz with the leap!!
     
  12. ConceptVBS

    ConceptVBS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    52
  13. setzer715

    setzer715 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My question would be do the samsung widgets still work when running a new launcher? With Sense, if you run a new launcher the HTC widgets will no longer work, they depend on Rosie.
     
  14. ConceptVBS

    ConceptVBS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    52
    No the widgets will not work.
     
  15. Sirtalksalot66

    Sirtalksalot66 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    if the phone is rooted can stock android 2.1/2.2 be run?
     
  16. yakboy

    yakboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sitalksalot - No, rooting is the first step towards custom ROM development but rooting along will not give you the option to use Stock Android. I am sure someone will bake up a nice Stock 2.1 (or even 2.2) ROM at some point and I'll be one of the first to adopt myself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...