Can you active an EVO on Boost Mobile?Support


Last Updated:

  1. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    I mean if you don't care about 4g. Say I buy a BM phone activate it can I then switch that out with my EVO?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    prob not. When you give Boost the IMEI #, it will show as an EVO and they'll go 'nope'.
     
  3. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    Gaaaaaah. Do you have to call them to change out your phone or can you do it over the web like Sprint?
     
  4. jongo

    jongo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    my friend activated my sprint palm pre on metropcs when i gave it to him some guy at metro just had to change the software so it was capable. Im gonna guess u need to redo the software so its set for boost and hopefully you find someone nice enough to activate it for u.
     
  5. royal42crown

    royal42crown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Boost system will only let you change the iden phones through there website. Everything else has to be done with a rep. Also you would need the phone to be unlocked by the carrier in order to even think about it. Good luck.
     
  6. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    Oh, I thought BM was Sprint. My bad.
    When I got my prepaid $20 tmobile phone I just took out the sim card and put it in my G1 and it worked fine.
     
  7. uniquenameEVO

    uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    103

    It is. The phone limitations for BM are the same as Sprint SERO (the old one). No android, not webOS, no instink.
     
  8. GadgetGator

    GadgetGator Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. chrisinsocalif

    chrisinsocalif Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    45
    Newer plans are Iden and some are CDMA (in my area) so maybe it wont work at all. Only one way to find out.
     
  10. jrlga57

    jrlga57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a CDMA account with boost mobile (I have the blackberry), can the EVO work on Boost since it is a CDMA phone?
     
  11. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    jrlga57 likes this.
  12. alnova1

    alnova1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    Anyone with a EVO on Boost? I have Verizon now and because of my financial situation and the economy I have to try to save money. I need a smart phone though and Boost looks like the best deal...there phones stink though. I see EVO's for sale that have been flashed to work on Boost so I though about giving it a shot. Just wondering how the service was and if porting your existing number is a problem. Thanks for any info.
     
  13. sanchez1980us

    sanchez1980us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    No you can't use on bm but if this helps my brother has a HTC hero and he had it flashed over to cricket.
     
  14. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    thats cool, IF you stay local to your major city. Otherwise, cricket will probably leave you haning. The nice thing about Boost Mobile and Virgin is you get (most) of Sprints network to use.
     
  15. sanchez1980us

    sanchez1980us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    True!
     
  16. lamboh

    lamboh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    Its not actually out in the open but yes u can.....cook ur own rom or do more searching..i also hear evos with bad esns still could get on metro pcs...its not advised but youre a MAN/woMAN..and should be old enough to make your own choices....hell youtube it....u might find a unauthorized/booylegged/rip a new one in ya....seller

    Ps for tthe know_not_alots.....it would run on sprints cdma .so you would benefit from sprint 3g and voice..

    Hell, 4g works too... u just got the register a new account. With Clear.

    PS u didn't hear from me

    It's some BS from what i hear, and a few things don't work.. not worth it to me, I like having insurance and sprint support
     
  17. chrischoi

    chrischoi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    You can flash to Metro and Cricket and maybe even Alltel, but Sprint and Verizon aren't really interchangeable.
     
  18. Dasin

    Dasin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man i have heard for this for a long time, people allways say it is possible and i heard of people that got the phone on boost mobile, how is this done and what would you need other then the MSL for my evo.

    I was told to get a Boost Mobile CDMA phone and activate it on the Boost the take the MDN and the MSID and put that in my EVO, the change the MSID and the MDN in the Boost Mobile CDMA phone. Then do a update data profile and then its activated.

    Please tell me if this is true on now, if not please let me know how and be detailed so that i can understand.
     
  19. Ivansandroid

    Ivansandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thats because T-Mobile works on sim cards and Sprint Doesnt
     
  20. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    That'd be nice.
     
  21. Thephoneguy23

    Thephoneguy23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi. New to the forums. But long time phone junkie android fan.

    I am currently using a htc evo on boost and like stated above everything works perfect except 4g of course. I bought it from a site online. He also does your evo/epic or evo shift if you send it in to him for a fee. Works perfect and very happy with it until the motorola bionic comes out for verizon.
     
    PapaNoHair likes this.
  22. PapaNoHair

    PapaNoHair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    If Sprint's prices keep going up and what they offer decreasing I might consider Boost just to save money. I have drawn a line in the sand on price increases.
     
  23. uniquenameEVO

    uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    103

    Maybe I missed something. Sprint raised prices? I know for regular smartphones there is now a $10 fee just like the EVO...but that doesn't affect people already paying it.
     
    Ezduzit08 likes this.
  24. ulitma builder

    ulitma builder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you post or PM me with the link? Thank you.
     
  25. maximus_xm

    maximus_xm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    this guy have done with mine, perfectly working
    Home Page
    414745
    1664 is the phone number

    activated with a new boost mobile account and unlocked to work
     

Share This Page

Loading...