Can you bypass security when Exchange setup?Support


Last Updated:

  1. stauren1203

    stauren1203 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    28
    I just got my GN2 on Friday and I love it. However, this morning I setup my Exchange email for my work email, and at the end of the setup it made me do a secure lock screen with either a PIN or password and I do not like this. Is there a way to make it so I can go back to my swipe to unlock with exchange setup?

    BTW, I am rooted, but I thought I would ask here first.
     

    Advertisement
  2. stauren1203

    stauren1203 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    28
    bump
     
  3. psifry

    psifry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Configure the phone using an IMAP connection if your company allows it. Or have them turn off the security policy that forces it. (Not likely going to happen).
     
  4. twister6

    twister6 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    897
    Don't remember off top of my head, but I posted the same question awhile ago. Someone at XDA-developers forum had a solution, but it wasn't pretty one. In addition to being rooted you also had to install a "fixed" version of Exchange, and it was do-it-a-your-own-risk type of deal in case if your company will find out.

    I know its annoying as hell, I have to deal with it every day. But the least you can do is to set lock time-out to 30 min thus you don't have to constantly type in the code every minute you need to use your phone. This way it will time out "naturally", and you always have up to 30min window to turn the screen back on without punching the code.
     
  5. twister6

    twister6 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    897
  6. stauren1203

    stauren1203 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks, I'll give this a try. My company is small and the IT guy isn't a genius so I wont get "in trouble" for bypassing any security measures.
     
  7. stauren1203

    stauren1203 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    28
    I hate to be that guy, but can you possible write up a slightly clearer "how-to" for me?

    Nevermind, step 6 was as easy as it looked. I was afraid I was overlooking something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...