Can you turn off the shutter sound?Support


Last Updated:

  1. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, can you?

    I like to take pictures at random places but not when people stare at me.

    Is there a certain way I could disable this?


    Thanks. First day of having it and its better than the optimus V.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
  3. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay thanks! Also, does anyone know how to take screen shots on your phone? I can't do "hold + home"
     
  4. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
  5. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    I went into media/ui and there isn't any files. So I can't turn off the camera shutter.
     
  6. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    It can be in other location, I don't know your phone, it's also not in that location on my Alcatel. If you have ICS and root, maybe you can enable the shutter sound menu (which is disabled by default in most phones) following this guide :
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s3/583031-camera-shutter-sound-off.html#post4893780

    Then you'll get the option to disable shutter sound directly in camera app.
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s3/583031-camera-shutter-sound-off.html#post4889426
     
  7. VM Jon

    VM Jon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm also interested on how to take screen shots.

    EDIT: Sorry, overlooked earlier post. I just came back to Android a week ago from iPhone. You still can't take screenshots in Android without being rooted or having an app? Kinda weak.
     
  8. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    121
    Try the suggested app, they claim it can take screenshots on some unrooted phones, on some phones it might need root, just install it, try snap and you'll see if it works withiout root on you device.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/...otapptool.free&feature=search_result&hl=en_GB

    Yes, it's painful, but you can also take snapshot via ddms or adb (connected in usb debugging mode, turn it on in developers options) :
    How To Take Screenshots on an Android Device - TheUnlockrTheUnlockr
    [Tips] : Poor's man screen capture using adb - xda-developers
     
  9. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there another program that takes pictures in FULL RESOLUTION? Because silent camera takes it as 320 x 480 and its damn right small. As if the no auto focus was bad enough
     
  10. NumberXV

    NumberXV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    To do screenshots just hold the Lock(Power Button) + Volume Down
     
    nelebaluap likes this.
  11. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    HOLY SH*T I just did that. Too bad it still has the shutter sound.
     
  12. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Now I'm rooted and renaming the camera sounds doesn't work on file manager. It keeps saying error and just reverts back to .odd.

    Damn...
     
  13. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Anyone?! The files im trying to edit is READ ONLY. Unfortunate.... and i still have that loud shutter.
     
  14. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Success! I finally renamed cameraclick.odd to .old and it worked! But I don't want to pay for root explorer. I don't know any apps that gives you permission like root explorer.
     
  15. joshua8790

    joshua8790 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    8
    ES file explorer.
     
  16. DannySihapanya

    DannySihapanya Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you
     
  17. jalane219

    jalane219 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I ask how you got the file to let you change it? I can't change the permissions...
     
  18. Trevon360

    Trevon360 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3

    yea you have too have root and i used rom toolbox's file manager and deleted the system sound
     
  19. Trevon360

    Trevon360 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3

    and to screenshot hold "volume down" and the power button
     
  20. dibblebill

    dibblebill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    355
    Try ES File Explorer. I think its free and has root permissions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...