Can you use Android Market with Wifi only?


Last Updated:

  1. ConceptVBS

    ConceptVBS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    52
    For the owners, can you access Android Market with Wifi only?

    I'm planning to get one with no contract and no 3G. Was wondering if I can do this.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Yep, no problems accessing the market only via wifi.
     
  3. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    My understanding is that the tab has to be activated through the carrier before they will work. Then you can chose not to use the data if u want.
     
  4. tungtle

    tungtle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i bought my Tab at Best Buy, paid outright, no contract, walked out the door.. of course I had to input a 'skip activation' code to bypass the activation screen, but everything works perfectly
     
  5. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    134
    The key seems to be you have to have a 3g model which is the only one available right now. If you hold out for a wifi only model then no, Market won't work according to Google. Maybe when the Tablet optimized OS comes out it will allow Wifi only Market access on a Wifi only model. I use Wifi a lot to make downloads faster through the market.
     
  6. uniquenameEVO

    uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    103

    You are correct as far as google stated. However, the market can be side loaded and work just fine.
     
  7. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    134
    So are you saying you can side load the Market or side load apps? I knew you could side load apps, didn't know about the market though.
     
  8. uniquenameEVO

    uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    103

    I'll admit I haven't seen it done on this tab, but the market has been sideloaded on numerous wifi only tablets. The archos forums should have the actual apk.
     
  9. xScope

    xScope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    55
    Confirmed yes.
    Bestbuy, Sprint version, without activation fee or anything, just plain $599. And I bought a couple of paid apps no problem at all!
     
  10. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Obviously, I DON'T HAVE MINE YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But, what is the skip activation code, where did you get one, or is it part of the first log on screen. Hope to get mine Monday?
     

Share This Page

Loading...