[Canada] With all those Galaxy S versions...


Last Updated:

  1. Bung

    Bung New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, thanks for looking,

    With all those Galaxy S versions being released on the top carriers in the states, am I right in assuming one is bound to work on a Canadian network?

    Anyone have any experience with this? I find it difficult to get a clear picture of what networks we have and what they have on one easy to read page somewhere.

    Thanks for any help
     

    Advertisement
  2. Vakman

    Vakman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    Samsung Captivate is AT&T's version of the Galaxy S, launching 'in the coming months' -- Engadget
    If you can get it unlocked to use in Canada and are not locked to the AT&T network. This phone will. AT&T uses the same bands as Rogers/Bell/Telus etc.
    But anything going to Verizon or T-Mobile or Sprint will not work I believe. Not positive on Sprint.
    T-Mobile phones will work with Wind Mobile here in Canada if you are in the Toronto area.
    Not sure about other versions, will post back.
     
  3. Bung

    Bung New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, anything additional is surely appreciated.

    What are the common unlocking methods? Asking the carrier for some code? Buying from a site that specializes in providing unlocked models? Something I can do myself? Is unlocking necessary?

    I think that wind is now in more places then toronto now too, yay :)
     
  4. Vakman

    Vakman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    The carriers will not likely give you an unlock code, buying from a site is usually the way people do it.
    If you are lucky it may come factory unlocked so it can be used on any carrier but that is highly unlikely.
    Wind Mobile still doesn't reach far enough to be useful outside of the bigger areas and you are charged a lot when you leave these areas.
    Though they do have a nice unlimited plan, only one in Canada really.
    The bands we use are three of the 3G/UMTS bands which are 850/1900/2100 MHz. This will tell you if you will get 3G or not here.
    AT&T uses 850/1900/2100. We are lucky.
    T-Mobile uses 900/1700/2100. So their 3G will not work and you would only get 2G speeds, meaning only for use on Rogers since they have a 2G fallback. Etc.
    Hope this helps again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...