CANADA'S Late Entry to Android


Last Updated:

  1. AmaruPhoenix

    AmaruPhoenix Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good day to all you Google Phone users
    A big hello from your neighbor!

    I've been waiting for Rogers to ship me my HTC Dream for a week now, Itching to get my hands on it.

    I'm wondering how many of you are also rogers consumers and what are your feelings about the phone, and your questions

    1. What did Rogers modify on our custom firmware 1.5 Cupcake,
    -Virtual qwerty keyboard (disabled)
    -Exchange ActiveSync (added)
    -anything else? (good or bad)
    Are you going to root your phone? if so, to what?

    2. I have a friend at a Rogers Booth, tell me that only one person purchased the phone so far and already returned it for bad reception and dropped calls, I'm based in Toronto, North York, Any users experience this issue? (hoping that it was just a bad unit)

    3. I'm assuming Amazon won't be supporting us, since Amazon.com hates Canadians & Amazon.ca doesn't support Pay MP3 Downloads, I tried to buy a song off their site, and they fully told me in a polite way to move to the states or buzz off lolz. So what will we get as a music provider?

    This is all I can think about ATM, any tips or tricks or things to know for a new comer to the Google scene would be gladly appreciated

    ~Amaru
     

    Advertisement
  2. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a G1 in vietnam. I have some problems too like skype will not work from here and my market has no paid apps etc. But I get around most of it. And living in asia since 1985 all I can say is that Canadians are the most polite people I meet over here. I use youtube to download music videos for free. Now with sipdroid I can make calls to the usa for 2 cents a min.
     
  3. Sketchie

    Sketchie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got mine yesterday and yes I'm from Canada(Montreal).
    I've been investigating why my virtual keyboard wasn't available but to here Rogers disabled it just confuses and angers me at the same time. WHY WHY WHYYY!:p
    So heres my question Can I Enable it? Although I don't want to have to install an American version of Android or anything. No offense, I would think it would just screw up my phone somewhere some how.
    *Edit* Now that I think about it I have 2 more questions maybe you can help me out?
    1. My temp display in the top left of the screen is in Fahrenheit instead of Celsius. (I have Weatherbug as an app if that has any relevance)
    2. Just what is Activesync? Thanks man
     
  4. Hilly

    Hilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. name777

    name777 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm a Rogers customer and live in Mississauga, work in Toronto core. No problem with the signal whatsoever. Hi speed internet works everywhere I've been last week, even in a moving Go train.
    Virtual keyboard was disabled, but I installed a Russian virtual keyboard, which comes with English one too. Not using it anyways - full keyboard of Dream is everything I need.
    Exchange Active Sync is enabled, but I'm not using it.
    Biggest problem now is unavailability of paid apps.

    I think people won't buy it, unless they know what it is, because it doesn't look that sleek as other phones.
     
  6. markW

    markW Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to see some other Canadians here :)

    @AmaruPhoenix
    I have been using my HTC Dream since the day it was released in Canada. Call quality is flawless. Maybe it's different in the GTA but in Ottawa I haven't had ANY issues with call quality.

    @Sketchie
    I used the link above to enable the touch keyboard. If it helps, the solution is on comment#16. The only problem with the solution is that it gives you a shitty looking keyboard, so when you need to download the keyboard use this link instead: http://www.droiddeveloper.com/hrbuilds/htc_ime.zip

    I don't know too much about ActiveSync, but the big fuss about Android in Canada is that it comes with Exchange Support, whereas the American version of cupcake does not. Obviously this is a major feature for people who want to use their phone for emails at work.

    Hope that helps,
    Mark
     
  7. AmaruPhoenix

    AmaruPhoenix Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats good to hear, from all you nice people,
    Yay for Canadian's!! finally we got something nice.

    I Ordered my White Dream since the 2nd when it came out... They've been driving me nuts cuz they still have not shipped it out.. and Rogers won't let me pick it up..

    Hopefully I can be toying with a brand new dream this time 2morrow..

    I'm glad to hear that all is flawless so far,
    Paid Apps will come, I hear there are updates for us soon.

    Keep the good times rolling =D
     
  8. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my Magic and love it. Better reception then my pearl.

    My only problems are the GPS isnt all that accurate, probably 50m or so out. Not sure how that will effect My Tracks or other gps apps though yet.

    And I installed ChompSMS (great btw) but I forgot to turn the default text apps notifications off, so now I get two and I don't know how to turn the notification off in the old app.

    And I kinda wish the "wake" was a slider like the iphone instead of the button, but all in all I like this more then the iphone.

    I am on Rogers, bill is even less with this then my blackberry.
     
  9. Sketchie

    Sketchie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh Snaps, I got me one of 'em fancy on-screen keyboards! Thanks Fella's
     
  10. srs87

    srs87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. My temp display in the top left of the screen is in Fahrenheit instead of Celsius. (I have Weatherbug as an app if that has any relevance)

    I was frustrated with this too when I got the phone. Installed both Weather Channel and Weather Bug hoping either of them would have Celcius reading. However, there is a way to fix it. Press the menu button while you are in the app, go to settings and there is an option to change the reading. It should be set to English, but change it to Metric to get temperature in Celcius.
     

Share This Page

Loading...