Cannot connect to Wifi or 3GSupport


Last Updated:

  1. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    No connectivity at all on my Captivate. Wifi networks can't be saved, and the 3G symbol is up there, but there's nothing being transmitted or received. Should I do a factory reset? The phone part works, as does messaging, but nothing else. Help??
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    How long has this been going on?

    EDIT:

    From another forum:


    "I have had my Captivate for a week and a half and I really like it. This morning I when I got to work I noticed that that I had no data connectivity. I would get a "no connection error" when I tried to use the browser or anything that accessed the web."

    "I called AT&T and they checked and there were no outages in the area. The AT&T tech had me to turn off the phone and back on and to evern remove the battery. We even tried my SIM in another phone and I was able to access the web with it. All of this was done to no avail, the tech said I ought to return it to the place where I bought it and exchange it for a new phone."

    "When I went to Best Buy, the mobile sales person asked if the tech had me do a factory reset, which was a no. I had wondered about why the tech did not suggest a factory reset. We did a factory reset in the store and that fixed the problem."
     
  3. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    Started last night. But I meant to add I'd given up JuiceDefender, and tried Green Power - both have been deleted, but I think the damage has been done.
     
  4. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    Ok, factory resetting right now - what a PITA, now I have to reinstall everything - or can I use my Titanium Backup backup? Will this remove root?
     
  5. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Use your Titanium backup (batch mode) to restore apps + data. You shouldn't lose root.
     
    reinbeau likes this.
  6. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    It's restoring now. Will it bring back my phone-based contacts, or will I have to reenter them all? If I do, I may bag it and just go to importing them all into Google and be done with it.

    ETA Boy, is this a slow process!
     
  7. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    BTW, if you ever DO neet to root / unroot, the z4root method is easy and effective.
     
  8. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Your contacts should restore just fine.
     
  9. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    I've got his earlier program, OCLF, that's how I rooted before. I'll download/install the newer one now (paid for, I support!!) :)
     
  10. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Off topic for a sec, but CapFAQ's warning (There are any number of "lag fixes" out there, some better than others, all with their own gotchas, bugs, and ramifications) has scared me away from using any lag fixes. I understand, though, that some use OCLF just for the root function.

    I'm looking forward to this thread's successful conclusion, i.e., you posting that all is now well and connectivity has been restored.
     
  11. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    Jack, I didn't use the OCLF to install the lag fix, just to root the phone.

    As it stands right now I'm back up and running, although JuiceDefender came back, and since I believe many of my issues stemmed from that program, I'm going to kill it.

    I am having a bit of trouble keeping my wifi connection to my home network, it keeps forgetting the password. Grrrr.

    What a PITA to get all the widgets set up again, and all the little tweaks I had made - oh well, I played a lot, maybe leaving most of that alone will be a good thing :)

    Thank you for all your help!
     
  12. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    There was a Comcast internet outage last night. Wasn't thoroughly fixed until this morning.

    But not sure why your 3g was affected.

    Unless JD doesn't play well with root, I don't think that caused your probs. I think I installed JD about 2 days after I got my Captivate and never had a problem and I have about 195 apps installed.

    Sorry you have to factory reset. What a PITA that must be.
     
  13. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    Oh yea it is. So many programs had to be updated, the widgets all need to be reinstalled on the screens (and try remembering which one was where why what??) I'm almost finished. One thing is all my toying around was erased, so I'm starting fresh. We'll see about JD, it had an ugly message in the log about corrupted packages and the need to reinstall, which is what I did, that seemed to start my downward spiral. Add that to the fact that the developer doesn't seem the least bit interested in supporting the app - that's enough to make me uninstall and talk bad about him/them until they straighten up and support their paying customers.
     
  14. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Indeed. OCLF was, however, the easiest way to root... as long as users could resist the temptation to explore its other features. I always was uncomfortable about opening a can of worms, recommending OCLF to a newbie to root... and then having it spark the whole "what's a lagfix and why would I need one?" conversation.

    Since z4root has come out, I've updated that FAQ page to recommend it instead. I actually tried unrooting via OCLF and re-rooting with z4root and it worked fine.
     
  15. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    You bet. One P.S. to all of this (and worth repeating)...

    If you haven't already done so, instruct Titanium Backup to automatically store your backup files on an external SD card so that restoring a backup in the event you need to exchange your phone becomes a convenient task. Additionally, should your phone become unusable (bricked?) your external SD-hosted backup will be available for use.

    In Titanium's preferences change the backup folder name to sd/TitaniumBackup. Don't forget to delete the existing backups and TitaniumBackup folder that is, by default, internal to your phone. Then create your "portable" backup.

    We'll be using this path with Froyo...

    external_sd/TitaniumBackup

    On a personal note, I have Titanium set to create three backups - similar to rotating backups for a personal computer.
     
  16. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    I've got it set to save three also, that's how I always managed BackupMan on my iQue. I haven't done a lot of file manipulation (other than the sideloading method I used) so this will be a good learning experience - hopefully! :D

    :::sigh::: Sideloading has gone away. Now I have to redo it. Dammit.
     
  17. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I looked at Green Power and this was one of the comments from a user:

    J
    6 days ago
    When green power service is running it prevents my 3G feature being enabled or disabled. Can't use 3G at all till I turn off serivce..uninstalled.


    Could be that Green Power was the culprit of your not being able to connect to 3G. And the Comcast outage may have caused the problem with your wifi. (It certainly did on mine and on my laptop, too.)

    I'm *not* affiliated with JD in any way. I just really like the program.

    I just had a hard time believing that was the cause of your probs as I had absolutely no issues with the app since I started using it, a day after I got my Captivate.

    But I am UN-rooted and don't do any sideloading. So the rooting and sideloading you performed on the phone could have destabilized it in some way. Just a guess. I'm just a chicken with rooting. Sounds great, even a status symbol perhaps, but I rather stay on this side of cautious.

    Waiting for the Froyo update to happen before I start investigating the benefits of rooting in earnest. I like the idea of being able to do a full backup using Titanium.
     
  18. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    >>> Waiting for the Froyo update to happen before I start investigating the benefits of rooting in earnest. I like the idea of being able to do a full backup using Titanium.

    Minor hijack. I'm not "brave" either when it comes to the phone and, as such, have not attempted to load custom ROMs. That said, as the only way to obtain a complete backup was to root - I took the plunge and, as a result, Titanium (and MyBackup Pro) have come to the rescue a couple of times. The root process is simple and easily reversible, especially using z4root. Once again available (after disappearing) - free from the Market.

    P.S. Great avatar!
     
  19. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Thanks. I like it much more than my original bookstack ;)
     
  20. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    No, the issues with JD started before I tried Green Power. So, neither program is going to be installed for now. The Comcast outage definitely is what caused the Wifi issues.

    Yup, I liked it too, until I started to get the errors that showed up in the log as 'fatal errors' and was told to uninstall and reinstall. I did that, and the ASOP Helper App couldn't be installed, thus rendering the program useless.

    I hear ya, I hope you never start having the fatal errors I got.

    I rooted the phone two weeks after I got it, and enabled sideloading two weeks after that - both long before any of these issues came up. I really don't think they're the issue at all or many, many others would be having the same problems. No custom ROMs, no lag fixes, nothing like that, just rooting and sideloading.

    Rooting is well worth it. Sideloading shouldn't have to be done at all, AT&T has no right to block app installation like that. YMMV. And I think it'll be a very cold day somewhere before we get Froyo.
     
  21. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Actually, I did encounter the Fatal Error once with JD/UJ. I uninstalled and reinstalled with no issues. Have not had any probs with it since. So didn't give it another thought.

    I usually go the route of blaming any newly installed apps when things go wrong with my phone. That's why I usually only install maybe 3-5 apps at a time and wait a few days before I install more apps. Usually within those few days, I will have used the app a few times and found out any probs. If things don't go right, I quickly uninstall!

    Lately, I've had probs with Tasker, but I think it's more me programming wrongly than the fault of the app itself. In this case, I blame the user...ME! LOL
     
  22. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Do you have a hologram version? :)
     
  23. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Yikes! So the reset / restore was just a practice drill. :(
     
  24. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    No, things were futzed up anyways, obviously, because the 3G was definitely gone. So, it was a good exercise and lesson. Plus it let me learn more about the phone, and also to reorganize my screens. Cleared out the dreck :)

    However, the three hours it took me to uninstall and reinstall the home network was definitely a practive drill :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: I did learn one valuable lesson there, the software that comes with the Cisco E1000 is web based - what the heck good is that when you've got no internet? :eek:
     
  25. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Well, since you have to do a whole redo/reoganize, might I suggest 2 apps that are quite awesome, imho? If you don't have them already, that is...

    Folder Organizer - Theme all the icons from the app itself so that they become the default wherever you add them, e.g., WidgetLocker, LP home screen (or any homescreen) - plus you can organize bookmarks, apps, shortcuts, into ONE folder. E.g., I have folder called FF (for Fantasy Football for the BF) -- I have a bookmark to his league, a few apps to help him with his lineup, and general football news apps. My Widget locker is nicely themed because of Folder Organizer. You can even have folders within folders, but you need the Pro version to nest.

    Smart Taskbar - Nice Task Switcher that you can access from ANYWHERE, even in-app. Great for cutting and pasting between apps. ST also is an app organizer, so I organize my apps slightly differently than with Folder Organizer, within it. The nice thing is that you can get to ANY app ANY time, even in-app with Smart Taskbar. In the Pro version, its task killer allows you to kill any running app by long-pressing on it, so it functions as a "sniper" TK, as I like to refer to it.

    With these two apps, you can compress your homescreen real estate for app/widget space into less than 2 pages, maybe even 1, and all the rest of the pages can be devoted to the large LPP and calendar widgets.
     
    reinbeau likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...