1. Hot New Devices! HTC One M9 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | LG G4

Cannot Hard Reset PhoneSupport

1. hargie12

hargie12 Member

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting in this forum and I'm in dire need of help. I have a Droid Razr Maxx and I cannot hard rest the phone. I have been on the phone with every level of Verizon technical assistance and Motorola technical assistance. I even spent 4 hours in a Verizon store and they couldn't help me. I must return the faulty phone but I refuse because all of my personal information is still on the phone. I have tried using keys, system prompts, removing the partition and even connecting via USB to wipe the disc. I have to return the phone or be charged $500. After speaking with Corporate customer care they have advised me that I must return the phone because they have done all they can do on their end. I am wondering if anyone has any advice. The individual at Verizon said he has never heard of this and has worked there for over a decade. If I need to post a YouTube video or explain in more detail, please let me know.

Thank you for your time,
    Hank

Advertisement
  2. carracerz14

carracerz14 Well-Known Member

Settings>privacy>factory data reset.

That doesn't work either?
    Thom likes this.
  3. festerw

festerw Well-Known Member

4. hargie12

hargie12 Member

I have tried both methods and still no results. All of the information stays with the phone regardless of which reset method I choose.
  5. Thom

Thom Premium Guide Member Guide

I had a similar issue ... I just replaced both 2.5T SCSI drives on my workstation and had to return them to Dell. What about all my data?

The repair person suggested I take them to an audio repair shop and have them demagnetized.

I concluded that Dell already had access to all my data during the repair process so I just returned them.

If this is a route you choose I would ask permission from Verizon before doing it ... and get something in writing.

... Thom