cannot install SWYPE on BB 4, says no room


Last Updated:

  1. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    was able to install on another Froyo rom, no I don't remember which. How much room does SWYPE need?

    editing this in (from post below) to get it read by more eyes:

    I did uninstall a bunch of fluff I was thinking of getting rid of anyway. Using 3 different methods of checking, here are results:

    os monitor 231 used 48 free, not sure why this is being reported so low, but could be a clue
    in misc section of os monitor:

    \system
    total: 143
    used:117
    avail: 26
    \data
    total: 265
    used:123
    avail:145

    memory widget
    120 out of 261 used settings

    sd/phone internal phone storage internal space
    142 (which matches mem widget)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Thrawn

    Thrawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the free space in your internal memory. Settings -> SD card & phone storage -> Internal phone storage
     
  3. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    no kidding... not an answer to the question i asked. jeez
     
  4. Thrawn

    Thrawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well is it low? You could try moving some apps to your SD and see if it helps.
     
  5. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    I did uninstall a bunch of fluff I was thinking of getting rid of anyway. Using 3 different methods of checking, here are results:

    os monitor 231 used 48 free, not sure why this is being reported so low, but could be a clue
    in misc section of os monitor:

    \system
    total: 143
    used:117
    avail: 26
    \data
    total: 265
    used:123
    avail:145

    memory widget
    120 out of 261 used settings

    sd/phone internal phone storage internal space
    142 (which matches mem widget)
     
  6. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    how do i move apps to SD card? I did format it for that, but have not seen where/how to do that yet.
     
  7. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Try using root explorer to delete every incidence of swype on your system (need to set system to read/write r/w and do a search for "swype"). There might me remnants of swype left on your phone. Then do a reinstall. I had the same problem with other large apps when trying to do a Titanium restore and couldn't even do a market install. After a search and delete I was able to install them again. You can also check out this link (I used root explorer instaead on Android Mate):
    http://alldroid.org/tabid/62/g/posts/m/4135/NEW-official-swype-beta-release-WORKING-on-FROYO.aspx
     
  8. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    search found nothing...
    I have flashed chevyno1 simplystunning and now OS monitor shows 99% used
    but Root explorer says 260 free
     
  9. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    this may or may not be relevant to this no room issue, but every time I boot (in last 2 or 3 roms) I get a notification of 416 unread messages, even thought I keep telling handcent to mark all read.
     
  10. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    you should move your apps to the memory card. on bb you go into the bb tools then script helper then apps2sd
     
  11. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    You could do that, but you shouldn't need to...
     

Share This Page

Loading...