• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Can't backup ROM

Nirvalica

Dec 2, 2010
NJ
EDIT: I guess I should introduce myself first haha

Hello, I'm Patrick. I'm from Norther NJ. This is my first smartphone, and I love it. I love electronics and technology, from computers to theater systems. video games to car audio. And now I've found something new in android smartphones.

So now that you know a little about me, I need your help! haha

I rooted my phone, and I installed Rom Manager, I flashed ClockworkMod Recovery twice for the fascinate, and now I want to backup my current rom.

I'm fairly new at this, so I have a few questions. First, what exactly is a rom. I mean, I think I have some idea what it is, but I'm not completely sure. Do they just make changes to the look and workings of the OS?

Anyways, about this backup. As far as I understand it, if I really mess up my phone somehow, I can load this backed-up rom and my phone will be the same as it is right now, correct?

So assuming I'm correct up to this point, I want to backup my current rom just in case. I'm guessing I just hit the button and let it do it's thing. But then it takes me to this screen and gives me an error.

As far as I know, I think I've done everything correctly, but chances are I messed something up somewhere. Any idea what to do?

Also, please excuse the picture quality, I was too lazy to find my camera so I just used my Dare.

Attachments

• 1202002358.jpg
    1202002358.jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 72
EDIT:
I rooted my phone, and I installed Rom Manager, I flashed ClockworkMod Recovery twice for the fascinate, and now I want to backup my current rom.

I'm fairly new at this, so I have a few questions. First, what exactly is a rom. I mean, I think I have some idea what it is, but I'm not completely sure. Do they just make changes to the look and workings of the OS?