Can't change wallpapers!Support


Last Updated:

  1. Lurch

    Lurch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so everything was working fine earlier, I could change to whatever wallpaper I wanted, static or live. Now the wallpaper will only change when I choose a live wallpaper. If I choose a static image as my wallpaper, the wallpaper changes to an image that looks like the HTC Sense live wallpaper, only it doesn't move. Any ideas on what's going on and how to fix it? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    26
    A simple reboot usually fixes problems like this. I had it happen on my Hero where it wouldn't let me change wallpapers.
     
  3. Lurch

    Lurch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That did the trick. Honestly, I should have tried that before posting. Thanks for the help!
     
  4. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    I really am curious to the problem here, mine did it I rebooted lastnight and today it's stuck on HTC sense 1st wallpaper option, only live wallpaper is working.

    Anyone else?
     
  5. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Anybody? Even a remote direction to where I can get this fixed? Reboot doesn't work, is something corrupt on my SD card? I can read/view all images just fine, soooo strange.

    Someone HELP!

    Please :D
     
  6. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Someone else has to either have an idea here or had this happen to them also.
     
  7. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Bump for help
     
  8. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    ENOUGH bumping! If someone knows an answer, they will post it. Obviously nobody has had that problem, so calm down. Try a hard reset, I can almost guarantee that will solve the problem
     
  9. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    bump :D 3 resets same result w/in 24 hours.

    edit: update seems to have fixed it.
     
  10. rednaxelanhoj

    rednaxelanhoj Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    What update fixed this for you? I'm having the issue and it seems to be getting worse. Hard reset works but is pretty annoying to have to do so often. - 2.1
     
  11. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    it did it after the update.....

    My new fix is to just simply power cycle the phone, it is still very annoying, as I don't know a permanent fix......
     
  12. RaiseUp151z

    RaiseUp151z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    32
    try some other wallpaper app like Flikie Wallpaper....
     
  13. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wallpaper apps did nothing for me, but so far so good since power cycle yesterday.
     
  14. DroidGnome

    DroidGnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Same problem here.. I was perfectly fine a few days ago, never had a problem all month.

    I don't know if it was the new EVO OTA that did it, or some app I installed.. going to start 'uninstalling' anything that might have wallpaper access.
     
  15. haimleead

    haimleead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem any help will be appreciated
     
  16. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Power cycle is the only temp fix I found
     
  17. DroidGnome

    DroidGnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    I've had mixed success with just killing inactive apps... I THINK the issue is some problem with memory.. many times I've noticed when the problem happens if I switch to ADB launcher it looks fine.. it's only sense that has a problem.
     
  18. ZNA03

    ZNA03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah... power cycling... gay...
     
  19. verngator

    verngator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm having the same problem, but I can't tell whether this started happening before or after I installed Zedge. Power cycling hasn't worked for me.

    I'm going to uninstall Zedge, reboot, then try it again to see if it works.

    I've re-selected the wallpaper over and over - I'm trying to get rid of the Live Wallpaper with the clouds, but it keeps coming back.

    Maybe I'll go ahead and root sooner rather than later...
     
  20. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Happened to me on launcher pro, when it does i can pick any live wallpaper, hasn't happened lately though just half way as my unlock screen shows default htc wallpaper
     
  21. jws

    jws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    once i switched to launcher pro, if i go to menu->wallpaper -> select the one i want, it will say wallpaper changed, but nothing happens...

    my stupid work around is to navigate to the wallpaper i want (i use astro file manager), open it with gallery, menu -> setas wallpaper. this change sticks for me.
     
  22. mrfunktastic

    mrfunktastic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of us went out and tried all the other launchers and their themes and stuff, right? I'm having problem too, and I noticed ADW launcher has an add-on theme called Senses, which may be where that Sense-like background is originating.

    I got rid of ADW launcher and all the themes and so far so good.
     
  23. DroidGnome

    DroidGnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Good thought, but I just checked my ADW.. and I didn't install any themes. In fact I don't use ADW at all really (though it's installed). I'm still 'using' the HTC Sense as my Home, with PowerStrip as a home app helper.

    I have tried enabling/disabling various apps over the last few weeks trying to see if I can narrow things down.. and I might also be onto something.

    I noticed that my wallpaper would tend to be 'frozen' sometime during the night, because it was frozen when I woke up almost every morning. I also realized I used my phone as an Alarm clock and so have disabled the alarms for the last 3 days... so far , not a single wallpaper lockup, and I've even re-enabled the wallpaper switcher app which changes it automatically every 30 minutes.

    I don't think it was the clock itself locking the wallpaper but rather perhaps some sort of memory error after the timer has been running a long time (say ohh 24 hours+). I seem to recall other issues with the alarm and people claiming alarms weren't going off, so that's what made me think to turn it off.

    I'm not ready to say I fixed my unit just yet... but if it doesn't freeze in another few days then I'll have gone a full week without rebooting and freezing.

    UPDATE: 8-3-2010
    *sigh* no go. Leaving the clock off was just a placebo it seems. Still gets stuck. Also was installing a few more apps the other day to mess with and noticed it's getting stuck MUCH more often. I've since removed them all except Pure Messenger and still is getting stuck almost 2-3x per day now. Reboot is the ONLY fool-proof way to fix. (Switching Scenes worked for a few tries.. now no longer).

    I'm wondering if perhaps the HTC Sense has a problem if say a wallpaper tries to switch when a data connection tries to sync up? Dunno.. just grasping at straws. Hoping the 2.2 update will clean this up for good..

    One strange thing.. when it happens I CAN Switch to a Live wallpaper just fine.. but any static image reverts to the Sense circles :(
     
  24. DroidGnome

    DroidGnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Does not work for me.. says it switched of course.. but no go.

    Other things that only work 'sometimes'
    1) Switching to another Launcher and Back (Such as ADW and back to HTC Sense)
    2) Switching "Scenes" and back
    3) Manually setting wallpaper via Wallpaper button, though this rarely works.

    So far as stated above the only thing that works 100% is to power cycle the phone.. something which is really a pain to bother with.
     
  25. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have a hunch it is since related. But if I try the astro work around, I get force close infinite loop forcing a power cycle, anyone find a fix with froyo?
     

Share This Page

Loading...