cant connect to internet this evening?Support


Last Updated:

  1. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    think O2 may have a problem tonight?

    I have been unable to use any data connection tonight, ive tried a reboot and turning apn off and on, but no internet, market, speedtest, facebook etc.

    anyone else on O2 having the same problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    Are you rooted by any chance, the reason i ask is i had my connection blocked by the battery circle mod
     
  3. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    not rooted, but I used the ruu method to debrand and update to 2.2 last week. Its been working fine until tonight.

    ps, whats the battery circle mod?
     
  4. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    update:

    I have briefly connected to the net, long enough to load the google homepage,
    but then it dropped out. (my cache was clear, so it definately connected)
    I hope its an temporary O2 problem....
     
  5. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
  6. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    I havent changed my APN settings, but just as a test I just recreated another APN using the settings on the O2 website called O2 pay monthly. They seem to be identical to the O2 postpay ones that I already had. it didnt make any difference.

    do you think its possible that O2 have blocked my data service some how? would they do that because I have debranded my phone using the RUU? Its been working fine for over a week since I applied 2.2.

    i'm getting pannicy now...
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    No they wouldn't. I'm rooted with a custom ROM on o2.

    Call o2 on "202", they may have a service announcement. I've had problems with their APN's too.


    Also, Menu>settings>Wireless and networks> Mobile networks... Untick and retick Data Enabled. It should give you a reason for failure if connection fails.

    Also do a battery pull.

    I'm going to move this to the troubleshooting forum.
     
  8. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    connection doesnt fail, APN turn on ok, but It wont do anything data related.

    No customer notice when I dial 202.


    cheers.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Did you speak to them?
     
  10. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    I spoke to them today, no signal/antenna/service outages or problems reported.
    they recommended a soft boot and cleaning the sim :0(

    I can connect fine to hsdpa or gprs, but even with 4 bars of 'H' connection
    it still times out in the browser, market, facebook, speedtest etc. 'G' works fine if I restrict the phone to using it in settings.

    I get the up arrow flashing besides the H but no down arrow.

    Its so odd because until yesterday it was working brilliantly since updating to 2.2
    more than a week ago.

    If I go into the O2 shop with the phone debranded and on 2.2 do you think they will still help me?
     
  11. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    ok, not sure how or why, but its working again, the only difference is my location, the signal strength etc are the same as before. maybe it is a transmitter problem. fingers crossed its not actually a problem with my phone.
     
  12. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    right,

    I have returned home and It is now not working again?
    It seems to work until I am within half a mile of home and then I get the problem.

    O2 have given me a new sim, but it has made absolutely no difference.

    I'm sure its a transmitter issue, but O2 are adamant that there have been no reported problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...