Can't get metamorph to work


Last Updated:

  1. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    Hi, so I installed metamorph and when I click to start checks it gives me the following error: "Some files could not be extracted and set up. Please make sure you have enough free space in /system and that Busybox is installed!"

    I checked the /system, I had about 20MB free space, moved some stuff and got to 30MB (useless stuff like the Corporate Calendar, etc ... I saved it elsewhere in case I need to move it back). Anyways, that didn't work. So next I tried downloading another version of busybox through Titanium Backup, still no luck. I googled the problem and tried entering this code in the terminal emulator:

    Fix busybox

    su

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox


    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    sync

    reboot


    ...but when I enter "Fix busybox" I get a permission denied message ... still tried the rest of the above code and Metamorph still isn't working. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    What rom are you running? When you tried using titanium to fix busy box what did it say. Thats the easiest way to fix a busybox issue.

    Long way

    BusyBox
    download busybox binary to your adb tools directory
    http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=709
    cd to your adb tools directory

    adb push busybox /data/local/busybox
    adb shell
    su
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 busybox
    ./busybox
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    mkdir /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/bin
    cd /system/xbin
    busybox --install .
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
    csoga and dodger55fan like this.
  3. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    no rom, just 2.1 rooted, when I installed busybox through Titanium Backup it said it installed and when I reopen Titanium Backup up it says I have "BusyBox 1.15.3 from app"

    I'll try what you posted, hopefully that'll work, I'm assuming that's from the computer since you said to download the busybox binary to the adb tools directory or is it still through the Terminal Emulator?

    Edit: also your link isn't working, I'm sure I can just google for the binary though
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  5. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    everything worked except this line of code, when i tried to install it said busybox: /data/local/bin/____: No such file or directory" over and over ... is there supposed to be a period after the install because I didn't put it thinking it was a mistake...?
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    period should be there
     
  7. dodger55fan

    dodger55fan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    20
    well even with the No such file or directory, whatever I did worked, Metamorph now doesn't give me that error, so thanks a bunch!!
     
  8. kokiangel

    kokiangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    353
    I was just browsing the forum when I came across this thread and now I am curious. I have rooted my droid and am still running 2.0.1 because Rom Manager and my phone are not on speaking terms. I don't know why. I rooted the long way all the way through and then installed Droidmod which works fine. I have busybox, obviously but am curious about how you get it back through Titanium if you unroot your phone and then reroot it to 2.1. Please explain.
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    There is no reason at all to unroot in your situation. Just flash a different rom and see if Rom Manager works then. if you flash this [ROM] ESE81 Completely Stock With Proper Root, SU, & Baseband you will have plain jane 2.1 but rooted. If rom manager still doesnt work then its time to start trouble shooting.
     
  10. kokiangel

    kokiangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    353
    I am an idiot. I use Sweeter Home as my home replacement so I never noticed that live wallpaper was running in the background on the stock home screen. So the ROMs were all bombing. Once I replaced it with a plain wallpaper all was fine. Thanks for your help. Now I can finally move forward.
     
  11. csoga

    csoga Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mr. OMJ,

    Thank you!... very much.

    I needed busybox installed, didn't know all the necessary commands to manually push with ADB, and even though Titanium said it had installed busybox, Metamorph STILL would not work... said busybox was not installed.

    Thanks to your instructions, I now have Metamorph working!

    I owe you a beer, PM me if you want to collect :D
     
  12. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    No problem...I appreciate the offer for the beer but no need. Buy one for your favorite dev instead. As long as its not Blackdroid
     

Share This Page

Loading...