Can't get rid of Sprint TV!


Last Updated:

  1. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi All,
    I have my phone rooted with Fresh 1.1 and Gumbo Kernel. The other day, I reinstalled SprintTV because I wanted to see what kind of Olympic coverage I could get. Now I can't get rid of it any more! I tried to "reinstall" it and uninstall it again using the kitchen and that didn't work. Any help would be very nice. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    Did you get an error message when you tried from the pre-kitchen? If so, what did it say?

    If you are comfortable with 'adb' you could simply try removing via shell.

    Otherwise, you can just re-flash Fresh over top of itself, since it will give you a new default install, where the sprint apps are removed by default.
     
  3. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    No error messages. Said it was successful, rebooted and then it's still there. Not comfortable at all with adb so I guess I'll have to reflash. Kind of a pain in the ass because I have to do that, reboot, change lock screen, reboot, change taskbar, reboot change start up screen. Oh well, just hoping for an easier fix.
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    it's much easier to use adb and remove it via CLI
     
  5. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, if you want to try via adb shell, go to the folder where you installed the pre-kitchen, via the command prompt in windows, then, change to the 'adb' sub-folder, and type:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb-windows shell
    You'll be at the prompt shell:

    Code (Text):
    1. #
    Type:

    Code (Text):
    1. cd /system/app
    Then:

    Code (Text):
    1. rm Sprint_TV.apk
    2. rm Sprint_TVWidget.apk
    Then:

    Code (Text):
    1. exit
    And you should be good to go.
     
  6. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    Probably going to need an adb remount in there to set the / to rw.

    J
     
  7. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    Nope. /system is defaulted to rw.
     
  8. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    Nope, it's not:

    # mount
    mount
    rootfs on / type rootfs (ro)
    tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,mode=600)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    tmpfs on /sqlite_stmt_journals type tmpfs (rw,size=4096k)
    /dev/block/mtdblock3 on /system type yaffs2 (ro)
     
  9. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    It is on mine, Sparky:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. # mount
    3. mount
    4. rootfs on / type rootfs (ro)
    5. tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=755)
    6. devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,mode=600)
    7. proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    8. sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    9. tmpfs on /sqlite_stmt_journals type tmpfs (rw,size=4096k)
    10. /dev/block/mtdblock3 on /system type yaffs2 [B][COLOR=Red](rw)[/COLOR][/B]
    11. /dev/block/mtdblock5 on /data type yaffs2 (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    12. /dev/block/mtdblock4 on /cache type yaffs2 (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    13. /dev/block//vold/179:1 on /sdcard type vfat (rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=
    14. 1000,gid=1000,fmask=0000,dmask=0000,allow_utime=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=is
    15. o8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8)
    16.  
    So, moral of the story is, if your /system partition is read-only, remount your system first. Either, before entering the shell, using:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb-windows remount
    Or, once in the shell:

    Code (Text):
    1. # mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
     
  10. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    What's up with the name calling?

    I'm running Fresh 1.1/Gumba 1.5c, I haven't changed fstab, and I rebooted the phone before I checked. What I showed you is what's default on mine, and what I've experienced putting software on or off the phone.

    And I'd appreciate it if you refrained from calling names.
     
  11. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    And what I stated is what my phone defaults to after a fresh boot. I am on Fresh 1.1 with gumbo as well, and I have not touched fstab either. I can only go by what I see on my phone, and thus the recommendation. The "name calling" came from your apparent desire to try and call me out for some reason. If I misinterpreted your tone, I apologize.
     
  12. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    What did you do to have your system in RW all the time? I am rooted and fresh 1.1 and it's annoying to always mount it..etc. lol

    Thanks much,
    -Nigel
     
  13. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    I merely made a suggestion that remount might be necessary to which you replied:

    So who's calling who out? Either way, name calling isn't necessary. I'll consider this dropped.
     
  14. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, I grabbed my wife's Hero to check her's, which I also rooted with Fresh, and her /system is indeed read-only. Sorry to the OP for this thread going on a tangent.

    Went looking for 'fstab' and we don't actually have one for setting default mount options. Not sure where this happens, as I went digging and didn't see any valid conf files, etc, that may apply. Just can't figure out how/why mine is defaulting to 'rw', persisting through a reboot. I don't want to accidentally corrupt the /system partition if it is meant to be 'read-only' for security's sake.

    At any rate, hopefully the OP was able to resolve the problem. Moral of the story, issue a 'remount' before doing anything else, if you wish to try, as either way, it won't hurt :)
     
  15. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    You know, I've done a ton of dev on this phone, tinkering with settings, files, etc. I have to be honest, I can't remember what I may have done, as all of the usual methods where you would do this have come up empty for me.

    Either way, as mentioned above, it is probably best to keep it default to read-only, as it is this way for a reason, to protect you from accidentally FUBAR-ing your phone.
     
  16. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261
    Jeez!!!!!!

    Who took my GI-Joe action figure!
    I'm telling!
     
  17. John_Droid

    John_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    15
    I finally remembered what the hell it was I did after digging around. Again, though, as mentioned above, to keep from potentially corrupting your system, it is not the best idea to default change your /system to read-write. During my initial customization and testing of my ROM, I wanted to make tweaks, just to tinker, and I was constantly remounting, so I put this in place, just to make things quicker.

    You can't modify the init scripts in the root of the system, as android will change them right back, unless you modify the boot image. Rather than go this route, I found a free application in the market called 'Autostart', that allows you to setup a shell script in a specified folder, /data/opt, that runs during the boot process. So, I just created an 'autostart.sh' script with the remount command for /system in it, so that on reboot, /system would switch to read/write mode.

    This is a cool script that enables you to do lots of things at startup that you might not otherwise have been able to do. BUT, as mentioned, I DON'T recommend you do this wholesale. It was just a convenience thing at the time. Since I don't make nearly as many changes now that I have the phone where I want, it is unnecessary for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...