Can't get to Recovery


Last Updated:

  1. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to go into recovery, I get the Exclamation mark with the android. I found this:
    I checked and that file is there with permission -r-. How can I fix recovery? I don't want to install any roms until I know recovery is working. I had issues yesterday after trying to install cyan's rom. I had to do a restore. Recovery worked until I did the restore now I can't get into it.
    I followed this guide Full Update Guide - Nexus One Firmware to CyanogenMod - CyanogenMod Wiki
    At no time did it mention needing root access. But this link says root access is required. [Recovery] [21-Mar-2010] RA-nexus-v1.7.0 - xda-developers

    I did not install superboot.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jisri

    jisri New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    hello,
    same issue here.
    any updates?
     
  3. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't found any answers yet.
     
  4. Viralmind

    Viralmind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    16
    you need to have superboot flashed before the recovery image.
    this is why you are getting a problem.
     
    Erich likes this.
  5. jisri

    jisri New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    True superboot fixed it
    thanks Viralmind.
     
  6. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got recovery working. For some unknown reason I can't install cyan rom it gets stuck at the boot image every time I try.
     
  7. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11

    reflash it. or maybe u got a bad link. try re downloading it and re flash the rom. i had the same problem.
     
  8. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find a link to get 5.0.5.1.
     
  9. jisri

    jisri New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Erich likes this.
  10. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm about to give up. I've checked the files, they are not corrupt. I installed 5.0.5 and just get a constant loop of the splash screen.
    I did a wipe and restore, phone works, but now I'm back to the ! when trying to get into recovery. I have root access.
    So what is the first step to get recovery working again? I have root access. N1 Torch works great.
     
  11. Viralmind

    Viralmind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    16
    erich make sure you flash 5.0.5.1 before 5.0.5.3 or you might have boot problems like you currently do!

    i had the same problem!
     
  12. Erich

    Erich Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried 5.0.5, 5.0.5.1 and neither will work. I either get stuck at bootloader or the constant splashscreen. Can I just install Recovery again to get it working properly? Then i'll try installing the rom again.
     
  13. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    always check the MD5 checksum values... always... in case you are getting corrupt files for some reason...
     
  14. Viralmind

    Viralmind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok make sure you have 5.0.5.1 and 5.0.5.3 on your sd card before you boot.

    -boot into recovery
    -WIPE
    -do a 'nand restore' back to the recovery image backup (your first backup)
    -then 'flash from zip' your 5.0.5.1
    -then 'nand backup'
    -then 'flash from zip' 5.0.5.3
    -then backup again
    -reboot regularly

    see if that works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...