Can't install HTC Sync on PC


Last Updated:

  1. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    I can't install the Sync software to my pc. I keep getting this error "The Generic Device Manager Executable has encountered an error and install cannot continue.
    I have tried to un-install and reinstall several times and even downloaded from HTC support and same thing happens, so I am assuming it has something to do with my pc.
    The pc has reconized the phone and actually the HTC window pops up but I can't click on the Syncronize Now or on the HTC Sync, and on the right side bottom of that window it shows phone as disconnected.
    I am running Window XP and don't know if this matters, but I am also running IE 8.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Duncs

    Duncs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    23
    stupid question maybe but have you tried pulling the notification bar down on the phone once its plugged into the pc and selected htc sync to start it communicating with the pc ?? you can also set the phone as a mass storage device in the same menu. sorry if you have tried this but its the first bit to test if you do indeed have the htc window popping up (i dont think it would/could if not correctly installed).
     
  3. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well, this is the problem, if the executable file won't install then I would assume that is why it won't connect don't you think? I have tried what you suggested and I had tried that before but I tried it again to make sure but it says "Unable to find HTC Sync on your PC so this is what is puzzling that the HTC window pops up when the phone is connected but still shows it as disconnected *ugh* this is so nerve racking. I also have contacted HTC support but haven't gotten any response yet.
     
  4. Duncs

    Duncs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hmmmmm does sound strange, all i can think now is to fully uninstall the whole thing and hunt through windows registry and delete all the entries for htc and remove any folders it left behind so there is no trace of it. Then a install from scratch might work .....
     
  5. enchanter

    enchanter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    it must be the DLLproblem. try yo reinstall vc++ 2005 library distr....... sth like that. but the installer of it is not good. there is no error message if it is not installed correctly.
     
  6. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    I don't think it is the pc, so to speak. I have tried to install it on 3 different computers and it still won't work. I think it's my phone.
     
  7. michael_84

    michael_84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had this error on a fresh install of WindowsXP Pro SP3, not looked at it again recently, I do think the sync software is badly written... I tried to use the sync software on a virtualised XP system (running on Virtualbox 3.0.8) which resulted in the software not finding the phone even though the OS did.
     
  8. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    well Im glad Im not the only one having this problem, but I do think it stinks that HTC or Sprint are unaware and have no clue to what I am talking about.
     
  9. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem with european HTC Hero(using it in the US). I DL'd HTC Sync Upgrade just now. My phone says its connected, I can see it on my PC. However, HTC Sync says that it is disconnected.

    Oh, but I am not getting the ""The Generic Device Manager Executable has encountered an error and install cannot continue" error, though.

    I just want to upgrade the ROM. Grrr!
     
  10. michael_84

    michael_84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's exactly how it goes for me as well on my virtualised XP... however you don't need the sync software to upgrade the ROM, the ROM comes with the necessary software to do that :)
     
  11. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    michael84, you mean I can do it OTA? It didnt mention that possibility on the HTC website. Doh!
     
  12. michael_84

    michael_84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's not OTA but when you enter your serial into HTC site (when you select the rom to download) it gives you an executable file, you just run this and it takes you step by step through the upgrade process.

    *P.S It will wipe everything on your phone setting it back to how it was from new.
     
  13. ldn-j

    ldn-j Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a very similar problem not being able to install HTC Sync whereas it would install on my girlfirend's netbook. My problem was that I used to have a Sony phone therefore had the Sony sync software, once I uninstalled this after a month of trying other things I was able to install HTC sync straight away without the error 1713 message.

    Hope this helps in case you have any other sync software installed
     
  14. boilerhouse

    boilerhouse Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi!

    This has made me think to why HTC Sync would not install in Vista but would on my XP machine. I had removed Sony sync software which was not present on my XP machine but still remained to fail on the Vista one.
    I now wonder if the TomTom (Satnav) sync software interfers with HTC Sync, then failing to install with the same error?
    When I get home will try this theory out.
    Thank you - boilerhouse
     
  15. bayleaf63uk

    bayleaf63uk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - Just got an HTC Tattoo and having the same prob installing HTC Sync - just get 'Generic Device Management Executable' errors. Have disabled all antivirus, firewalls etc as instructed, using latest version of Sync off the HTC website - anyone made any progress with this issue?

    Martin
     
  16. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    HTC Sync is a pain to install and run. Turning off the Firewall when installing and running helps. Sometimes you may also need to restart the phone to get the phone and PC working together.

    I have not had the Generic Device Management Executable error, but according to a quick Google, it is from Generic.exe which you will find in Program Files/Common Files/Teleca Shared. It is also installed by Sony Ericsson phones, so maybe there is a conflict. On my PC the version of Generic.exe is 1.6.0.556 and dated 29/9/09. These were installed as part of the latest version of HTC Sync, which is working for me on Windows 7.

    It might be worth, if you are reinstalling HTC Sync anyway, deleting the contents of the Teleca Shared folder as well. Because they are Common Files, it might be that an older version is not being overwritten.
     
  17. bayleaf63uk

    bayleaf63uk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions - having checked my PC it does not have a Teleca folder, or any other instances of generic.exe. Have also been in touch with HTC who suggested having the phone plugged in to USB prior to the installation - this too had no effect, still getting the same error (have tried on both desktop and laptop with the same results). Apparently there is a new release of HTC sync out in January - let's hope that solves the problems....

    Shame that these sync problems let the phone down. :mad:
     
  18. bayleaf63uk

    bayleaf63uk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just tried installing HTC Sync again on a different PC with a completely clean install of XP (SP2), Microsoft Office and nothing else. Still getting the same 'Generic Device Management Executable' error, so it's not a conflict with other installed software.
     
  19. bayleaf63uk

    bayleaf63uk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all - there is a new version of HTC Sync (v 2.0.18) available from the HTC site - this has installed on my PC without any problems and I can now sync my calendar. Suggest you give it a go! :)
     
  20. Haizum74

    Haizum74 Guest

    I had an issue with it when installing on xp befire upgrading to windows7. Strangely enough in device manager (I think) it showed up as Sony software. I have never owned a Sony phone nor any Sony product.
     

Share This Page

Loading...