Can't Mount SD / No Phone Network


Last Updated:

  1. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ok, where to begin:

    I Rooted this weekend and have been installing a few roms, all has been fine. This afternoon I tried to partition a fresh SDcard using the windows-recover.bat method to allow apps2sd and that (I believe) is where it all went wrong.

    When I rebooted the phone it went into a boot loop, never getting past the HTC logo.
    So I factory reset from the HBOOT menu and it still looped, until I put a new SD card in - then it loads ok (using Defrost 2.41d) but after the initial set up it says emergency calls only - I manually select Orange (the phone is a factory unbranded/unlocked CPW handset) - it says it's not allowed to connect - won't connect using my T-Mobile sim either.

    It also says the SDcard isn't mounted no matter what SDcard I try (tried 4x).

    I've tried booting into recovery and installing a zip from the SDcard so try and install a new ROM and it fails saying unable to mount SDcard.

    I have also done a cache wipe, and basically any other option that sounds like a wipe type option from within the Recovery menu on HBOOT/Clockword MOD.

    I'm lost, if I can't access the SDcard in any way then I'm screwed and can't reflash.

    Any ideas gratefully received...:(
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    The only thing i can suggest is to follow this guide on unrooting

    [Guide] Root, unroot your HTC Desire + Mirrors - Via Modaco - xda-developers

    you basically flash a generic rom back on your phone
     
    tef89 likes this.
  3. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks will have a look.
     
  4. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Good luck & hopefully it will sort out your problems, its the only method that you flash your rom via the usb cable that i am aware of.
     
  5. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Tried nstalling a stock ROM via USB and it fails saying it can't find the phone - phone doesn't register the USB being connected (other than charging).
     
  6. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    have you selected usb debugging mode
     
  7. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
  8. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    tef89 likes this.
  9. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Exactly the same happened to me, no USB, no connecting to network and SD card not recognized (but you could still access the net using wi-fi - not much use though).

    It's meant to be relatively simple to fix however despite following numerous guides I couldn't get my PC to recognize the phone (which you need to fix the phone). I tried numerous operating systems (Win7, Xp Linux) finally tried it on my friends Vista laptop and bingo the drivers installed and i could do the fix.

    This link is probably the best guide to follow and not the one I posted above.

    http://android.modaco.com/content/h...com/309939/usb-brick-rickrolled-b0rked-fixed/
     
    anoniemouse and tef89 like this.
  10. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Thats a point he may get the phone recognized by trying a different usb port,
    quite often that works.
    Thanks for jogging my memory, brains lagging a bit today. lol
     
  11. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks again guys - I'll stick Vista on a machine when I get home :)

    I've tried a few different USB ports but still no luck here at work.

    It sounds like you had the same issue celticone so I'll work through that guide and see what happens ;)
     
  12. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    No problem :O)

    Yep you're right, sometimes it can be fixed easily just by plugging the phone into a different USB port (apprently the back USB ports on a PC are much better than the front ones).

    Hope he/she gets it fixed quicker than I did (4 painful days :D)
     
  13. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Everyone swears by Linux when I asked for help on other forums but it didn't work for me, it's all to do with the drivers on your PC apparently so it might be worth reinstalling the HTC Sync software on your current set up first.
     
  14. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Ouch, you must have a lot of patience.
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Usually more power goes through the back ones.
     
  16. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    It's a HE by the way :) lol

    Looks nice and complicated so it should keep me busy for a bit.

    I will read it through when I'm home but is there any chance of a quick walkthrough of the actual steps you did yourself ?
     
  17. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Your goal is to get the SD card recognized that way you can put the update file and then flash the fix.

    You need to use the command 'fastboot oem enableqxdm 0' to re-enable the SD card.

    The problem i had is that the PC wont recognize the phone so you can't use the command, it always fails.

    So when you plug in the phone to the PC it will start to load drivers and hopefully it will come up as an Android device * this is what you want * (in device manager) but like me you'll probably get it coming up as a Qualcomm device.

    You can follow my melodrama at the following link but really have a read at the guide at the Modaco site.

    Bricked - Can I save my phone?? - xda-developers
     
    tef89 likes this.
  18. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks I will - I really appreciate the time you've taken to help.

    Just one quick question: The command to re-enable the SDcard - how is that entered ? on the fastboot menu ?

    EDIT : forget that last Q - I see it's via a CMD prompt now - Right off home to give it a try.
     
  19. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    Looks like vista got a redeeming feature after all, surprised win 7 never worked as that is the polished version of vista or what vista should have been.
    Was the version of vista that worked the equivalent of win 7 that didn't work?
     
  20. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    I don't know, according to other users at the time Linux should've worked as it doesn't need to install drivers for the phone but it never worked for me.

    I had Win 7 (dual boots on my PC) so tried them both, also had a laptop with XP Pro and Linux installed still no joy. I'd given up when I tried the Vista laptop cos as you say it should work on Win7 if he works on Vista. I just put it down to something not clicking and hopefully it's a lot easier to fix for tef89 (I seemed to be a special case :D).
     
  21. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Fingers crossed for him, but at least you got personal experience to guide him on the right track, that's better than all the theory going.
     
  22. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ok well I'm home ... tried my XP machine and it gives the 'driver not installed correctly error'. Just now trying to install Vista onto my laptop to give that a try. I'd already tried Win7 at work with the same error.
     
  23. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    If by any chance it doesn't work try & beg, steal, or borrow a copy of win 7 ultimate.
    Got an idea that may work on a home machine.
     
  24. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ok well I've managed to get through the initial bit :

    "

    • Unzip the file you downloaded to a directory, then open a command prompt / terminal window at that directory.
    • Copy the 'update.zip' file to your microSD. Do NOT rename it.
    • Turn off your HTC Desire, then turn it back on with the 'back' button held down. You'll see 'FASTBOOT' written on the screen in a red box. Connect the phone to the computer.
    • In the terminal window, enter either 'step1-windows.bat', './step1-mac.sh' or './step1-linux.sh' as appropriate.
    • Navigate to the 'BOOTLOADER' and then 'RECOVERY' option on the menu, using the volume buttons to move and the power button to select.
    • When a black screen appears with a red triangle, press and hold 'Volume Up' then tap 'Power'.
    • Your device should now be at the 'recovery' screen. Select the 'wipe data/factory reset' option,"
    But the next option 'apply sdcard:update.zip fails with a can't mount/find the update zip on the sdcard I have inserted.

    The good news is though it now has the std sense 1.21 on there (albeit with no phone carrier). But am a bit stuck now...
     
  25. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Is your phone seeing the sd card now though
     

Share This Page

Loading...