cant oc to 806


Last Updated:

  1. luke22494

    luke22494 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i have an eris runnin xtrsense 4.6 and i was wonderin if there is a kernel out for these phones that will allow me to oc my phone to like 806 or a little higher
    thanks in advance for your help
     

    Advertisement
  2. cmotion

    cmotion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hey Luke,

    Welcome to the forum! First off, not all Erises are created equal and some of them have a hard time overclocking much past 710. That being said, here is a very comprehensive write-up by the creator (zanfur) of a kernel capable of overclocking that high, along with .zip files you can download. Overclock Patch and update Also, 806 is a pretty high number, and any potential increase in speed may be overshadowed by instability, random restarts and force closes. On a personal note, I feel that the xtrSENSE and xtrROM series are made so well that additional overclocking isn't really necessary... but that's just me. :) You should also know that there was a member here a while ago who fried either their CPU or battery by running at 806 for too long. So just be cautious with your settings.
     
  3. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I agree with you on this one. I tried to oc my phone to 780 and it went into a freeze frame , it would load up but it would freeze with in like 20 sec of load. I was able to get in and change my setcpu back to 720. Beware of thinking you needing more speed.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    And high battery drain...
     
  5. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    710400 is the standard safe zone.

    After about 6 months I've personally decided to keep my clock down at 604800 and I see no real gain going higher.
     
  6. luke22494

    luke22494 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ cmotion. Ok thanks. I will take a look
    @ kobel1up I am currently running 768with absolutely no problems but it does still lagg some
    @ doogald I have seen that already
    @ izeltokatl I will keep that in mind
     
  7. luke22494

    luke22494 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ cmotion. Ok thanks. I will take a look
    @ kobel1up I am currently running 768with absolutely no problems but it does still lagg some
    @ doogald I have seen that already
    @ izeltokatl I will keep that in mind
     
  8. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    I ran very stably for 3 months at 768 max/528 min and all of a sudden started having a shit-ton of random resets (at least half-a-dozen a day... for several days) so I've since backed down to 710 max/245 min (default OC on xtr's ROMs) and have had nary a reset... and it's been about 8 days now.

    So the moral of this story is don't be too cocky with the overclocking. Just because your phone will run fine at a higher speed doesn't mean that it will for long (and once it starts not running so well... you know the life of your phone has been shortened).
     
  9. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    23
    I don't even know why you would need to overclock XtrSense or xtrRom. I used the gscript to reset the clock speed back to stock because this rom flies. Now if you were running a Froyo rom I would get it.
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Does anybody know if you run the phone stock at 528 in xtr whether it still underclocks to 245 MHz? That is what saves battery, I'd think.
     
  11. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    If you run the GScript that comes with xtrSense to set CPU to STOCK, it will be clocked at 528 max/245 min.
     

Share This Page

Loading...