Can't program voice for Touchless ControlsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    298
    My Made showed up today and I've ran into a problem. When I go to program the phrase "OK Google Now" for my voice, the record screen shows for a split second and then informs me that it didn't catch that. I've even tried talking as I press the record button, bit no difference. I've tried holding the phone at different lengths from my head, and if the room were any more quiet I be in the ground. Has this happened to anyone else & if so, what was your solution?
     

    Advertisement
  2. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    298
    Never mind, apparently the Touchless Control app from the play store has to be downloaded before it will record. I'll leave this up if anyone else runs into the same problem.
     
    Jerzie, mahers and doogald like this.
  3. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    29
    You also don't have to say 'okay Google now'. You probably still have to say okay, but after that just play around with it a little and see what you can get away with!
     
  4. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,697
    Likes Received:
    4,229
    I use "OK Droid Now" and it responds to "OK Droid" like "OK Droid Time".

    ... Thom
     
  5. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    when I set it up, it required OK Google now.. what do I need to do to use a different phrase?
     
  6. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,697
    Likes Received:
    4,229
    Simply try a different phrase. Try different phrases until one is accepted. Then repeat it for the next two tries. If you get to the end then you have recorded that phrase.

    For "OK Droid Now" if I then say "OK Droid Now Time" it sends "Now Time". If I simply say "OK Droid Time" then it sends "Time".

    ... Thom
     
    Jerzie and -=Jeff=- like this.
  7. mahers

    mahers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    164
    God forbid they should tell you that! This issue was driving me nuts last night after I opened the package and started to set it up. I knew I had seen a post about it, but was too lazy to look yesterday. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  8. Jerzie

    Jerzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just activated mine today and this was driving me nuts! This is the reason I have been and will continue to be a android forums user.
     
  9. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    I went back to 'OK Google Now' as I had OK Google but every once in a while I would hear command cancelled coming from my pocket..

    I understand now why it is an awkward phrase, sometimes it times I am commanding it when I am not
     

Share This Page

Loading...