1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Can't receive picture texts after froyoSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi my friend updated their Galaxy S Vibrant to Froyo and now I'm told they can't receive picture texts. It just sits there on downloading.

    They do not have the dataplan but was able to receive pictures before with 2.1

    Any idea what happened? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had that problem with certain people on 2.1.. Try a different sms app like handcent.
     
  3. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Downloaded and tried Handcent, still no go
     
  4. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    10
    When mine did it, it would eventually come through with some people and Iwould have 2or 3"downloading messages and then the picture would come through.. but some would never load. Haven't had that issue on custom roms though. Only on stock. Seems pretty drastic though to have to root your phone to receive such a basic service.
     
  5. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Oh that's dumb..
    Phone is rooted too so gonna do Bionic 1.3 or something and hope it works
     
  6. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    10
    Toly dumb.. I am sure there is another solution, but as easy as it is to flash custom roms and as stable as they have gotten, you may as well give it a shot.
     
  7. Waldo

    Waldo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've never loaded a rom on the Vibrant before, how long does the process take in minutes?
    I did my droid in about 15
     
  8. Dr.StainedGlove

    Dr.StainedGlove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    10
    About the same.
     

Share This Page

Loading...