Can't receive Visual voice mail while on WI-FI??Support


Last Updated:

  1. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    95
    i want to use WI-Fi while I'm at work to save battery (my 3G coverage is awful and it constantly searches for it). Everything works except for Visual Voice Mail. the second I turn "mobile network" back on my voice mails appear.

    Is it a silly setting I'm doing wrong? or does Visual voice Mail need 3G to receive??

    P.S. when i try and use WI-FI, I turn on WI-FI and turn off 3G

    i havent tested to see if I could get my voicmails the old fashined way by dialing in (while on WI-FI only) but i do know that I don't get a indication that i have an e-mail (so i wouldn't know when to dial in if it did work the manual way).

    thank in advance...

    I know someone spoke about they use Wi-Fi instead of 3G while at work and every thing was perfect BUT i don't know if he subscribes to Visual Voice mail
     

    Advertisement
  2. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    I don't have VZW so I can't speak for them, but this exact thing happened to me when I was on T-Mobile using Android. I was still able to call into regular voicemail, but visual wouldn't work unless I was connected to Edge or 3G, not wifi.
     
  3. DixieNormas

    DixieNormas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Im using Google VM and had the same problem myself until I set my Wy-fi sleep policy to to (never)

    on your phone go to menu/settings/wireless & networks/wi-fi settings/
    below hit menu again/advanced/wi-fi sleep policy/(never)
     
  4. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    You're saying you have your wi-fi set to always on right? The problem we're siting is that Visual VM doesn't work when we are connected to WiFi
     
  5. kwest12

    kwest12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    69
    Interesting.... I'd also like an answer to this question: I probably will turn off 3G in my house when I get the Incredible. If anyone can resolve this issue that would be awesome.
     
  6. nightfishing

    nightfishing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    111
    There are lots of reports of specific functions that do not work on WiFi, but as far as I have seen, there has been no definitive answer as to why or any workaround (except for switching back to 3g).

    Oddest one for me is that certain Google pages fail due to redirects. The Google Products page that I use to initiate barcode scanning is one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...