Cant root prevail with odin


Last Updated:

  1. skids94

    skids94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i try to root my prevail odin gets stuck on "setup connection"
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,551
    Likes Received:
    4,372
    Do you have it in downloading mode?
    Do you have the drivers installed?
    Are you running windows?
     
  3. skids94

    skids94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check, check and check. followed all the directions.
     
  4. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,551
    Likes Received:
    4,372
    Try a different USB port.

    If you're using a USB hub, dont
     
  5. skids94

    skids94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    heres a picture , its still running. no change
     
  6. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,551
    Likes Received:
    4,372
    Reboot phone
    Reboot computer
    Try different cable
    Try different port
    Uninstall/reinstall drivers
    Try different computer


    Try different phone?
     
  7. skids94

    skids94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing... any other way to root this phone? 2.3.6
     
  8. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,551
    Likes Received:
    4,372
    Sadly no. Odin is the alpha and omega when it comes to Samsung devices. All other exploits have been patched on the prevail
     
    skids94 likes this.
  9. vce2005

    vce2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    275
    You DIDN'T follow the directions :

    Step seven: Click OPS, and select SPHM820.ops. Click Phone and select the Rooted_PHONE.tar. Click PDA and select the Rooted_PDA.tar. Leave the other ones blank. Those extra files are for fixing broken phones and should not be used.

    This is what your window should look like (Click for large version):

    [​IMG]


    Seems like you selected the "Boot.tar" ! DON'T !!! Only the .ops, the Phone and the PDA !!!!

    Y
     
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,551
    Likes Received:
    4,372
    That shouldn't make a difference, I use all three every time I use odin
    (But you could always try anyways for fun)
     
  11. vce2005

    vce2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    275
    Well, just looking at the guide and it says "you shouldn't use the other ones ! " I never used the boot.tar, so I can't say if it causes the trouble or not !!
     
  12. skids94

    skids94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did that too. Still nothing. Tried every thing so far.
     
  13. vce2005

    vce2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    275
    Might be a dumb question, but are you sure your phone is the Prevail and not the Rush ( also called by some the Prevail 2 ) ???
     
  14. SParker40

    SParker40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    13
    Theres also the precedent and I was fooled for a minute but it roots the same as the prevail but you need the right ops file. Mine boots like a prevail now and runs fine.
     
    Slayer72 likes this.
  15. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    2,803
    Try running Odin as an admin (right click and run as administrator). Also, I'm moving this to the All Things Root section
     
    Lordvincent 90 and Slayer72 like this.
  16. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    954
    Question, it's quite possible that you may not have a data cable for the phone meaning that if the cable only charges the phone it would produce the problem you're having... When you connect the phone to your computer with the usb cable are you able to access Mass Storage Mode on it?? If not then you need to get yourself a DATA cable then your problem should be solved as long as you have the Samsung USB drivers for Mobile Phones already installed... :)
     
  17. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Having kies installed can also interfere with odin. I've had an occasional issue that I seem to consistently work around by getting it all setup, get the phone in download mode, then I unplug the USB cable then plug it back in. It seems to let odin grab control of the com port
     
    Slayer72 likes this.
  18. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    954
    Don't mess around and brick your phone, the roms for the Prevail are known to not be compatible with the Precedent...
     
  19. SParker40

    SParker40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    13
    yeah cm7 is one of them but the whole thing is that its a sph m828 and not a 820 like the prevail is. I rooted one and only using the sch M828 ops and the rest like the prevail and it worked flawlessly. My precedent thinks its a prevail. No problems to report at all. I put it on ej06 and run ct 3.75 on it
     

Share This Page

Loading...