Can't send MMS/picture message - "generic network failure" ??Support


Last Updated:

  1. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey all, I'm having some trouble sending picture messages/MMS.

    Had no problem with this until this morning. When I try and send a picture, I get a notification that the send failed and "Generic network failure".

    I'm using Handcent, and tried with the HTC messaging app, too. No dice.

    Virtuous 3.1.0
    Incredible rEVOlution

    Any ideas?? I was uninstalling some apps this morning since I got a message about low space, but I don't think I uninstalled anything other than downloaded market apps..
     

    Advertisement
  2. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Looks like it's fixed ... I think something got botched up when I upgraded Extended Controls. I have their APN toggle and I think it messed up something with the MMS. Anyway, reinstalled that and rebooted and we're back in business...
     
  3. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    yeah anything dealing with your APN can mess up your ability to send/recieve text messages.
     
  4. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Im having the same issue but am running stock unrooted. I've never knowingly messed with my apn. I use chomp sms. I've tried resizing to no avail. I can't send mms to myself even. Please help, and aren't u proud of me for finding an existing thread?
     
  5. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Way to find it via search! ;)

    Did you try just restarting the phone?
     
  6. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    I had the same issue. Kept fussing with it until i realized it has been happening since the last handcent update. I uninstalled handcent, and it was all good. Reinstalled and so far so good. Must be a bug in the update.
     
  7. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Alright, well I've tried rebooting, with chomp and with htc messages I get "message not downloaded: message not found" and "message failed: unknown error" when sending to myself. When sending to others I now get no error message but it doesn't go through.
     
  8. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Look at some of your apps permissions. If you have a camera app on there, chances are it has internet access, and can do this also. This might have been my problem all along, and when i uninstalled handcent, i also uninstalled a couple camera apps that had internet access, and i have not yet had it happen again.


    Also, watch your signal when the fail happens. If your signal and3G drops out when it fails, then it is likely a phone issue. If the signal and 3G stay strong, then it is an app issue.
     
  9. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Alright so I think the odd errors.were from old failed messages which I deleted.now I get no error, I can send successfully to verizon, but not Iphone! And I deleted some camera apps. one of which I recently downloaded called.camera 360, and I once got a notification from it, so it may be the cause.
     
    bunkobabe215 likes this.
  10. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    And how do I look at permissions?
     
  11. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    menu>settings>applications>manage applications>click on the one you want to look at, and scroll down to the words in red letters.
     
  12. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ive uninstalled any possibly conflicting apps and still having issues. I can fw mms but not send. I can send small pics to myself but when I try to send large ones with chomp I get unknown error, with htc messages it goes through but then says "message not downloaded, content not accepted
     
  13. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Dang it! It's doing it again. Gonna have to call V i guess.
     
  14. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Iduno anymore its just hit or miss. hard to say if anything I've done helped. Seems to suddenly work now. But for how long?
     
  15. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ok, i am getting upset now. Two factory resets, and it is not sending more often than it is sending. What the H?

    I do not have the quick settings app talked about in another thread. If i reboot, it works for a couple hours, then quits. This is getting really annoying!
     
  16. akdale

    akdale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    any luck solving the mms problem?
     
  17. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Still testing, but after i removed a bad app, it has been good. I have been afraid to post for fear it would jinx it.

    The bad app had the ability to alter mms connectivity. Can't believe i didn't see it when i DL'ed it.
     
    bunkobabe215 likes this.
  18. Jewshort

    Jewshort Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    I also use appplanet! My mms seems to be working now with appplanet so I can't confirm. And to adhere to forum rules, theres no such thing as the aforementioned app.
     
  19. akdale

    akdale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe this problem to be provider related. Just too many (Now it works and now it doesn't).
    My Phone is a Desire and it is running 2.1 at this time. It has the problem.
    My phone is rooted, no matter which rom I have in the phone, it has the problem----Sometimes-----
     
  20. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    By provider, you mean HTC? IF so then am inclined to agree. Seems to only be happening with HTC devices.
     
  21. akdale

    akdale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, I am thinking service provider. Maybe a setting in the account that is changing somehow.
    I am going to call in on monday to have my account and settings looked at.
    I have 2 Desires. I use the same settings on both phones, One works perfectly all of the time, one does not--Sometimes--. I am hoping that my account has a glitch somewhere, and that when it is deleted and reset, the problem will magically disappear......I have tried everything else that I have found to try.
     
  22. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Well, you say your issue is on a Desire. This is an Incredible forum, and the two are not on the same network.
    That is why i think it might be a manufacturer/OS/update bug.

    Either way, it is gone for me, for now. Still testing and waiting, though.
     
  23. akdale

    akdale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad yours is working now. We are on different networks with different phones but share a common problem. This, along with the fact that the problem is intermittent, I have tried different roms, the 2.1 Eclare and the 2.2 Froyo, Lead me to believe that it is provider related. I seem to recall reading some posts in my search that the Iphone is having this problem also.
     
  24. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Well that is what i don't get. Why would all providers be having it? Seems like more of either a software issue, or a brand issue.
     
  25. akdale

    akdale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just need to keep trying and searching. There has to be an answer somewhere...
     

Share This Page

Loading...