Cant take it anymore!


Last Updated:

  1. mattchewb

    mattchewb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive been trying to downgrade to version .5 for days! Im about ready to throw my hero out the window! I have rooted it before, So I know im capable of it. Nothing ever goes right, ive tried every method gold card included.

    When im trying to downgrade to .5 when it come time "upgrade" the only option that the installer gives me is .6 which I already have! So ive tried to run that to see what might and happen and it always gets an error 170 usb connection after its at about 70 percent!

    Thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    do you have USB Debugging enabled? (menu>applications>development)
     
  3. mattchewb

    mattchewb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive tried it both ways!
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Well, I have no doubt that it should be turned on.

    As for your the problem itself, I won't be of much more help. I've stayed rooted since December, re-rooted a few times, but on 1.5, so I don't have any real experience with the 2.1 root process.

    I'm sure someone will chime in sooner or later
     
  5. mattchewb

    mattchewb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help!
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    when you get that error while RUU'ing, leave the phone at the htc screen, just don't touch it, then run the RUU again, it works.
     
  7. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    just to make sure, you do have the Sprint Hero correct?
    if so, did you download the .5 RUU from this post? http://androidforums.com/766174-post127.html
    once the .5 RUU is applied, then root following the 2.1 rooting guide stickied at the top of the forum.
     
  8. mattchewb

    mattchewb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got everything flashed and rooted last night! Thank you for recommending running the update twice! That was the issue.
     
  9. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Lol told ya, first time I read that I was like "there is no f'in way that'll work..." but it did, Congrats.
     

Share This Page

Loading...