Can't update my HeroSupport


Last Updated:

  1. NeonXIII

    NeonXIII New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, I have an unlocked HTC Hero and I need a bit of help updating it :confused:

    I'm aware that most people have updated their phones by going to setting > about phone > check for software updates, however my phone simply does not have the "check for software updates" button. I have searched online but it seems like I'm the only person on the entire planet that hs this problem as I cannot find any answers about this anywhere :(

    I've looked on the HTC website about downloading the update from there but I can only find the Android 2.1 update for the HTC Hero (Sprint,) I'm guessing that it has the same software as the original Hero but I'm just not sure and don't want to take any chances.

    After a little searching I've also seen posts that say I need to download a ROM update for my phone, what is a ROM??? I've heard about custom ROMs and things but I want to keep my phone on official firmware and should be able to do so :S

    Another problem I'm having is that I recently had to factory reset my phone due to the stupid problem of getting locked out of your phone due to incorrect password (I only wanted to see how secure it was!) Now when I plug my phone into my laptop I don't get a HTC Sync option on the notification bar, I've tried reinstalling HTC Sync from my phone's SD card but I still don't get the option and HTC Sync doesn't register it at all.


    I really don't know what to do and I'm confused and annoyed and I need help :( lol
    Can someone please point me in the right direction so I can just update my phone! I've been waiting for this for months!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    Hi, and welcome!

    Before we get down to business we need a bit more info. You mention "the original Hero".... is your handset a GSM device (with the 'chin') like this or a CDMA device like this?
     
  3. NeonXIII

    NeonXIII New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the response.
    My phone is the original Hero with the "chin" ( <3 )
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You will be annoyed by me saying this, but.... nine times out of ten you can get back into a locked handset by using 'null' as the password. (Don't shoot the messenger :p)

    Anyway, that means you're in the right section. :) We have a separate one for the chinless hero, since it's an entirely different phone. So ignore anything and everything written about the Sprint/CDMA Heroes.

    The lack of the check for updates button is normal; nobody has it to begin with. Of the three OTA updates there are available, the first one is the check for updates button.

    Normally the Hero would check for updates automatically every two weeks (which does make me wonder why you haven't got it yet). You can force it to check by moving the date forward by two weeks or by dialing '*#*#682#*#*'. If neither works you might need to update to the most recent android 1.5 firmware build.

    'ROM' is just used as an interchangable term for firmware. You definitely don't need to switch to custom firmware to get this fixed :)

    EDIT: Also, if you tell us your build number from Settings >> About Phone, we can determine which firmware is on there at the moment.
     
    NeonXIII likes this.
  5. NeonXIII

    NeonXIII New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha I tried the "null" thing but it didn't work unfortunately so I was forced to reset, I'm not too bothered about losing my contacts but I'm gutted about losing apps suck as beebplayer, imusic and ivideo :( Ah well, life goes on...

    That's good to know, I assumed that the chinless Hero be pretty much the same apart from the appearance so I'm glad that I didn't just go ahead and try to download!

    I've tried moving the date forward but had no luck with that, I've just tried to dial *#*#682#*#* but had no luck, when I type the last "*" the phone just erases everything I entered.

    Thanks for clearing up my ROM confusion, I really didn't want to go custom on my phone lol.

    My build number is: 1.76.405.6 146733 CL#47214 release-keys



    Thank you very much for the helpful response. :)
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    Alright, now we're cooking! :D

    See this post in the mega "Official Hero 2.1 Thread". While you're at the HTC support site downloading the ROM upgrade, also grab the latest HTC Sync listed for the Hero as we'll have to get it working to do the update and it makes sense to use the most recent version.
     
    NeonXIII likes this.
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    1.76... Wasn't that the really laggy one? (Never used it my self).

    You're going to enjoy 2.1 even more :)

    Do bear in mind that whilst the OTA update doesn't seem to wipe your data, updating to the more recent 2.73 rom will. So you'll need to backup anything not saved to the sdcard/sim card/google.
     
  8. NeonXIII

    NeonXIII New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late response, busy day and all that...

    Anyway, thanks a lot guys! I downloaded the ROM update and the latest version of HTC sync and when I plugged my phone into my laptop it instantly recognised HTC sync and they started working together without a problem (which is a first for me haha.) The ROM update process went smoothly and as soon as my phone had rebooted and I was skipping through the setup screens the first update popped up and I downloaded it. Once that had downloaded and rebooted, the second update popped up instantly and is downloading whilst I type! :D



    It did lag sometimes which got a bit annoying and it took a few seconds for the camera to startup as well which was a bit annoying when trying to capture a quick photo opportunity!

    I'm somewhat lucky about backing up my apps and contacts because I was forced to wipe my phone a couple of days ago and so I haven't really gotten around to putting everything back on yet :p



    I can't thank you guys enough for clearing that up for me as I was really confused, and I can't wait to see some improvements on an already outstanding phone :D


    EDIT: Been using 2.0 for a while now and I freaking LOVE it! All of the little upgrades to things are just awesome, the new icons give my phone a refreshing look and I'm over the moon about being able to actually transfer files via bluetooth now.
    Thanks again guys! :D
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    That's what we're here for. ;)

    Glad it all worked out well and that you're happy with the update.
     
  10. Troba_Jas

    Troba_Jas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy,

    i also have a HTC Hero (imported to Australia/unlocked) running original firmware. I have been trying for the last 3 hours to update this thing with the ROM update 2.73.405.5 which is the latest that i can find, though im sure there is a more recent one....?

    Im running windows-7 64 bit. Whenever i go to run the update (_HTC Hero_RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoDriver), HTC sync (2.0.40) for some reason disconnects with my Hero, and the ROM upgrade program comes up with Error (170) USB connection error. Any idea what i can do? I feel like ive tried everything and its never going to work. There's so much stuff online about changing the drivers and all that kind of stuff, but nothing seems to work.

    Thanks...
     
  11. Yummymummy

    Yummymummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, may I start with I am female and dont really understand all this. My htc hero build no is different from NeonXIII's. Mine is 2.73.61.5 146733 CL#61267 release-keys. I know when the option to update my phone came round I went to turn on the wifi as it told me to and then the box was gone to update. I have never seen it again. Can anyone help me update my phone?
    Thanks
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    If you go to the dialler and type *#*#682#*#* and ring it, what happens? Or if you set the date two weeks forwards?

    That should do it, but I have heard of people having trouble recieving the updates if they declined them (although this was on the Desire, not the hero).
     
  13. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had masive problems trying to update my phone on Windows 7 x64, i kept getting that Error 170 USB problem. I got around the problem by using a Windows XP virtual machine. Or you could use an old pc running XP of course.

    The problem comes from rights management in the operating system. When you start the update process you get taken to the Boot menu in the HTC Hero; then windows will begin installing the drivers into the Windows operating system. Thats when you recieve that USB 170 error.

    Windows XP is not as strict as Windows 7 so the update goes ahead without problems.

    I had the same problem. I was setting the phone up for the first time so i wasn't connected to my WIFI. I selected update later and could never figure out how to check for updates. Here is the official response i got from HTC support which confirms what you wrote :):

    Dear John Doe,

    Thank you for your inquiry regarding updating your HTC Hero. On Android 1.5 it is not possible to search for updates manually. It is set to search for updates every 2 weeks on its own, if you dont want to wait this long then you can set the date forward by a month and the phone will search for the update right away.

    To send a reply to this message or let me know I have successfully answered your question log in to our ContactUs site using your email address and your ticket number xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

    Sincerely,

    HTC
     
  14. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    Ah-ha! I wonder if right-clicking on the RUU .exe and selecting "Run as administrator" would allow it to run successfully? Maybe temporarily disabling UAC too?
     
  15. Troba_Jas

    Troba_Jas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fair enough.

    I was hoping to avoid the XP solution.

    I'll give the "run as administrator" a go and see what happens, and if that fails, well then XP it is...what is the UAC though???

    cheers
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    User Activation (?) Control, basically the annoying pop-ups that appear in Vista/Win7 whenever you try to do something remotely grown-up like run programs, install drivers etc. A good idea in principle but it can cause havoc with program installation routines.
     
  17. mheat1989

    mheat1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, my htc hero is running on like an old software version, i tried to update the software but i dont c a htc hero update button under system updates, i tried going online and i downloaded the update but when it was finished it said there wasnt an app that could open it ?? any suggestions?
     
  18. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,491
    The update is an *.exe file which must be run on a PC while your handset is connected via USB.

     

Share This Page

Loading...