Can't update profile/prl/firmware.Support


Last Updated:

  1. VIP3R

    VIP3R Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have the latest i07 update, but when i go to update the prl/firmware/profile...i get an error that says try again later.

    error: unknown error...

    any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. quickstang

    quickstang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue. First Samsung phone and first Android. Just came from the TP2 and I am hoping this was a good investment. Anyway I have the same problem as you. I dont know if that is SUPPOSED to do that if nothing is available.

    It would be nice to have other people test the same thing and see if they get the exact errors or not and if not we know we have something wrong with our phones.
     
  3. VIP3R

    VIP3R Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    seems its been working fine for me today...
    weird
     
  4. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    winmo sucks. tp2 sucked. this is def a worthy investment in comparison & there may be a few kinks to be ironed out that effect some ppls usage requirements . . lets hope it all works out . . when I first made the jump from tp2 to an android phone (evo) . I was amazed at the speed & when I go to the sprint store for w.e reason I pick up the touch slow 2 and realize how slow it was & is.
     
  5. quickstang

    quickstang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm still getting error, but good to see yours work.
    Mine has yet to work. Said internal error, contact sprint cust care
    If the prob still persists. Still waiting on other people to report their
    Experience.
     
  6. quickstang

    quickstang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had one of the cell phone guys try to update a new epic since I work at your big box retailer, and the guy said the PRL update went fine and there was no error. Also tested an EVO to see if it was Sprint, and the EVO just said no PRL available.

    So they are going to swap my phone and see if that fixes the problem. I have yet to get anything BUT the error.

    And contacting customer care is a waste of time since I am with-in the 30 day window.
     
  7. Mke

    Mke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My profile wont update on my epic called sprint and went to store sat two hours they said they fixed it still not working and phone giving me other problems 2days after my 30 days is up im tempted to cancel my service and buy the new windows 7phone
     
  8. JoshJ

    JoshJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This seems to be a major flaw of Samsung Android phones, but I think I found a solution at least for my phone (Transform). Not all the steps may be necessary, but I didn't really have the patience to test all the possibilities. I thought I'd share to see if it works for other phones out there as well.

    1. Disable GPS, WiFi, Sync, and Bluetooth.

    2. Begin Firmware/Profile/PRL update through Settings -> About Phone -> Updates Menu

    3. While the phone is 'preparing services,' plug in the phone to a micro-usb wall charger.

    This has removed the 'unknown/internal/connection errors' that I have received in the past. Hope it works for you too.
     
  9. fareal

    fareal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for that solution. It worked at least once for me on my Epic.
     
  10. jdbaker82

    jdbaker82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am having the same problems with PRL and Profile update...unknown errors this is a replacement phone I just got from insurance claim and its a refurb.
     
  11. jdbaker82

    jdbaker82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nevermind found the answer. Not working right now because servers are being preped for the new OTA update.
     
  12. dksnet

    dksnet Guest

    What JD said .........:D

    Sprint will ask you to reset your phone and it still wont fix the problem.....
     
  13. Marsh511

    Marsh511 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    So this is a temporary problem with Sprint? Or just Sprint *and* Epic 4g's? I'm able to do the PRI and PRL updates on my Evo, but not on my wife's Epic (still on EB13). And the PRL on my Evo is 60677 while on my wife's Epic, it's still 60676.

     
  14. jc66215

    jc66215 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got off the phone with sprint (again, after being hung up on 4x) and was told this by a supervisor at the Louisiana call center. There is an issue with some of the sprint transforms and the froyo 2.2.2 update. This is "apparently" why the PRL, Firmware and Profile updates are failing. I am supposed to take my phone to a sprint store and have it replaced. I think it is a load of crap and I got 5 different answers from the 5 different people I talked to. Anyone have the number to Sprint's corporate complaint department? 5 hours on the phone with sprint between 2 days and I didn't through the phone once. That's a record.
     
  15. jdbaker82

    jdbaker82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    I still can't update profile or PRL and I am now running E05 I am beginning to think something is wrong with my phone.... Does anyone know anything more regarding this issue? How many people have this problem?
     
  16. dksnet

    dksnet Guest

    Patience is going to have to win this battle people. This is the second Android based phone I've owned. Hero was the first one. Now the Epic.
    jc66215 I suggest you keep your phone as the replacement one will possibly be a refurb.
    This happened a lot when 2.1 came out with the Hero phones and it smoothed out after everyone was done with all the downloads.
     
  17. alestin

    alestin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    has this issue been resolved for some people yet?
    I'm on EC05 and still cannot update PRL or Profile.
     
  18. lbcglazier636

    lbcglazier636 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. I went to the sprint store today they did a hard reset to see if it would fix the problem. I DIDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM!!!!! She said I should reinstall the 2.1 OS I DENIED THAT..she than went into tell me lots of other people are having the same problem. And we need to wait for a FIX N UPDATE to be sent out Ota to fix the problem.. I went in for a few issues today and nothing got solved except I got a wiped out phone I had to reinstall and had a complete nightmare. They made my google account for me when I bought the phone. So I had to go back in order to get the password... all sprint does is give you a run around so I don't know what to believe anymore from them... so NOW I SIT WITH THE SAME ISSUE AND A HUGH HEADACHE TODAY AND NOTHING SOLVED.. WHEN YOU CALL COSTMER CARE ON THE PHONE THE SEND YOU TO THE STORE..... WHEN YOU GO TO THE STORE THEY SAY YOU CAN RESOLVE THAT LITTLE PROBLEM BY CALLING COSTOMER CARE ON THE PHONE.... AND THEY WONDER WHY SPRINT IS SO MESSED UP.. I THINK MANAGEMENT NEED A NEW UPGRADE.. GOOD LUCK.. I'M HOPING TO HEAR FOR A FIX FOR THIS!!!!!
     
  19. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    389
    WHY ARE YOU YELLING AT US FOR THIS????

    Geez, relax. The servers are just busy.
     
  20. Ms.Information

    Ms.Information New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't been able to update PRL or profile for about 2 weeks. sometimes "unknown error," sometimes "connection error" is displayed.

    has anyone succeeded with updating pro or profile recently?

    has anyone received an error different from what I noted above?
     
  21. dksnet

    dksnet Guest

  22. snowdream

    snowdream Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had error unknown, then internal error after hard reset #1, this was the beginning of a down hill slide for my epic :( Had to have the internals swapped, then a multitude of other issues ending with 2 hard resets, 2 new batteries (why they insist on changing them out everytime is beyond me), 6 trips to the full service store in 3days, and finally a promise to a replacement phone which will be sent when they are no longer on back-order. Had to ask the rep if they were on back order b/c so many ppl were having issues

    Best of luck to you, hope your fix is an easy one!!
     
  23. toyman317

    toyman317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    6
    My phone just updated PRL without me doing anything. Just turned it on and it went into the update by itself. It has done this before as well. Is this a new Froyo feature?
     
  24. phrnk

    phrnk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    my prl and profile finally updated today -- but only after i reset the phone with volume-down/camera/power buttons

    epic with ec05
     
  25. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    +1 I couldn't get it to manually update during the froyo OTA hoopla. I OTW'ed mine a while ago and still couldn't get it to mnually update. It decided to update on its own this morning reseting the radio and such but the number looks to be same as before, 60676.
     

Share This Page

Loading...