Can't update?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Vee

    Vee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    For 3 weeks now I haven't been able to check for an update for my phone. Everytime I try, it says "Cannot connect to the AT&T server" and it won't let me try again for 24 hours at which point it tells me the same thing.

    Any advice?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
  3. Vee

    Vee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not rooted.
     
  4. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
  5. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Why keep hammering the update servers when you know there aren't any new updates?
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    After the update that error has been popping up on captivates. I how it doesn't happen when froyo gets here.
     
  7. cbritton

    cbritton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had the same problem since I installed update1 in late September. I have found that the following steps fixed the problem, and also defeats the 24 hour lockout in Software Update.

    WARNING: I have no idea what other effects these steps might have. I know it got me past the Communication Failed errors and defeated the 24 hour lockout. I have done this several times without any apparent damage to my Captivate. Use at your own risk. Maybe an Android expert can chime in here with more info.


    1. From the Home screen, press the Menu button and select Settings.
    2. Select Application, then Manage Applications
    3. Press the Menu button, then Filter, then select Running.
    4. Scroll down the list and select Device management.
    5. Under the Storage section, press the Clear data button.
    6. Power your phone off, then back on.

    You should now be able to perform a Software Update. If you want to check for updates before your 24 hours are up, repeat the steps above.

    Good luck.
     
    marusa likes this.
  8. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    Still get the error
     
  9. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    As far as I know everyone gets this error now. Unless of course you do some funky things. Don't worry about it; the update will be via kies.
     
  10. marusa

    marusa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    it works for me ...
     
  11. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    As I mentioned in post #2, the following, otherwise referred to as the update process enema, enables me to check for updates (and receive valid replies) at will. Requires root.

    Software Updates - CapFAQ

    Try it. Report back.
     
  12. Vee

    Vee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hammering the servers?

    LMAO

    It won't even begin to connect.
     
  13. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I would try it but I'm not rooting until the official froyo update. I'm not too worried about the OTA problem, so far it has been unnecessary. Everything that has come out (the whole one thing) has been available over kies.
     

Share This Page

Loading...