Captivate and Mac


Last Updated:

  1. bake

    bake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys and gals, I was trying to decide if I wanted to get a Captivate and get rid of this iPhone 3GS I have. I'm almost ready to jump ship, the only concern I have is if the Captivate and more importantly Android as a whole will play nice with my Macbook Pro. I want to get most if not all of my music from iTunes on the phone. I had heard something about having a hard time with ROMs on the phone with a mac, any explanation for that? Just trying to get all my bases covered, thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. King Stampede

    King Stampede Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a iMac and have not had any problems putting music on to my Captivate.

    I only did it once as I really don't care to put music on my phone but when I did it was easy as drag and drop the music files into a music folder once my Captivate was connected to my iMac.
     
  3. bake

    bake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, thats good to know. Any problems with rooting the phone on a mac? I wasn't sure if that would be different.
     
  4. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Rooting seemed to be a lot easier if you asked me on a Mac. Everyone on Windows has to worry about which OS they are on, and if its 32 vs 64bit. The whole thing was pretty painless for me. The only difference comes when you are in terminal, and editing files on your phone. All the guides say "adb...", and on Mac the only difference is using "./adb...".

    So for example:
    Win - adb push
    Mac - ./adb push

    If you have any issues rooting, just be sure to reread everything, contact the OP or contact someone with a Mac.

    As for music, I use doubletwist, and it gets the job done. Not as appeasing to the eyes as iTunes or using an iPod, but if you want your music, it's a way to go
     
  5. bake

    bake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, thanks. How hard was rooting the phone?
     
  6. Intervenient

    Intervenient Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    48

    It's extremely easy. Just downloading a file and rebooting. See the sticky for more help :)
     
  7. bake

    bake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! This place is great! If anybody else has anything to add about the mac part I'll be sure to take note. Thanks again!
     
  8. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    Also, in case you run into the issue where the Mac won't show the Cappy, you might have to put it in Debug mode. To do this, go under settings->applications->developer and check "debug mode." At first my Cappy wouldn't show up either on my iMac or in Doubletwist, but for whatever reason this fixes it.
     
  9. sridroid

    sridroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use Cyberduck for Mac and SwiFTP FTP Server App on the Captivate, to transfer Music and Photos to the SD Card. Works great, no usb cables to connect.
     
  10. AKA_Rizzo

    AKA_Rizzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    6
    He mumbles but I believe this is it.

    I'm pretty right brained so I need to see a person do something more than I need 3 pages of detailed instructions.

    Can someone who has rooted their phone verify this is the correct way to do it ?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNmgJ9M4meE
     
  11. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    you can root the phone with an app called "oclf", you do it all on the phone. its the easiest way imo
     
  12. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Yes. Outlined here:
    Root - CapFAQ
     
  13. bake

    bake Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, didn't even know people were using this thread :)

    Rooting is easy, and I used the update.zip method, its one of the easiest things I've done and have no trouble using my phone with a mac. It could only get bad if I mess it up, because odin doesn't work with it.
     
  14. ardreyer

    ardreyer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    ___ i tried this and my mac will pick up the phone, but it won't in itunes, do u kno how to fix this?:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...