Captivate in the IT field


Last Updated:

  1. Fastblack

    Fastblack Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in IT and plan on most likely getting a Captivate from work for my job. I will be using VPN to connect to my work network (ipsec) and then using a remote desktop app to support people remotly when I am not in front of a computer. (No WiFi at work)

    I currently have an iPhone 4 as a personal phone, and I know that I can use the logmein app to connect to computers and use the phone at the same time. I'm assuming I can do this on the captivate also. I was hoping to get the fascinate for the flash, and the fact that Verizon works much better at one of my remote offices, but the fascinate will not be able to do voice + data at the same time right? Also from what I read it has less RAM available.

    Does anyone else work in IT and use this phone? What are your experiences with it as far as helping you on the job?
     

    Advertisement
  2. malibu_rapper

    malibu_rapper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have logmein ignition and if you plan to do anything remotely you better get yourself a notebook with a broadband card. Yes, you can use logmein to do remote administration but that's like steering a car with your feet.

    Honestly, screensize is everything for me. I run my own consulting company. The only thing I use this phone for is keeping track of my passwords, taking photos of bluescreens, and storing information about software and configuration.
     
  3. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
  4. RavenFox

    RavenFox VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Pocket Cloud works for me but Malibu as mentioned has a point. This is just for basic stuff. A notebook for serious work is mandatory.
     
  5. Fastblack

    Fastblack Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I have a laptop, and I will be tethering the phone to it if I ever plan on being away from the office. I just want the feature on the phone just in case something comes up. Like if I dont have my laptop with me, and I am somewhere where there is not a computer available and my CEO calls me with some kind of software computer issue, I wont have to go home to see what is probably an easy fix or user error.
     
  6. gybryant

    gybryant Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, like the others have said, remoting to machines works in a pinch but there are few situations for which I don't have a better alternative handy. Remote Rdp lite works very well. Only problem I've had with my captivate in my shop is having to set up a static lease on the dhcp server and static ip on the phone to make wifi work. Apparently, it just can't handle multiple APs.
     
  7. Fastblack

    Fastblack Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually do not have Wifi at work. It would have to be through VPN over 3g. We use cisco ipsec here at work for our vpn. Android can connect to a vpn correct?
     
  8. jza

    jza Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    IPSEC VPN to Cisco devices is touchy at best. Support is not native, requires rooting the device and loading openVPN binaries, configuration apps, and a custom compiled tun.ko file. Most people report being able to get it working, but others (such as myself) have not had much luck. The problem stems from android's lack of group authentication support on the Cisco devices.

    Don't get me wrong, it's possible (as others have shown), but it's not native and can be a pain.
     
  9. Fastblack

    Fastblack Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. It's native on my iphone, I thought it would be on the android device as well. I'll have to look a little more into that. Thanks.
     
  10. jza

    jza Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Android does have native VPN... just not native support that works for Cisco IPSEC group auth.
     
  11. BoulderGeek

    BoulderGeek Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm a sysadmin, and I use the Wyse vCloud app to access VNC, RDP and PCoIP VMs.

    I wish that there was an Android app for RSA soft Token. I have to use my iPod Touch as my VPN token. You'd think that RSA technologies would have one available for Android, since they support Windoze and iOS (not to be confused with Cisco IOS).
     
    Fastblack likes this.
  12. el frugalista

    el frugalista Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I love my Captivate, no problems with Exchange. Great battery life if I'm not constantly playing with it.

    I don't use LogMeIn due to security policies; I have a netbook with a broadband card and go in via our Citrix connection for server or user issues.
     
    Fastblack likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...