Captivate taking long to boot upSupport


Last Updated:

  1. captivatethis

    captivatethis New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys! whenever i turn off my captivate and turn it back on again, it gets stuck on that flashing att wireless screen for a very long time! I've waited for up to 10-20 minutes for it to turn back on. Yesterday, it was stuck on that screen for a good 30 minutes, so I took out the battery to turn it off again because I couldnt wait. Then I put it back in and it flashed for another good 20 minutes until it turned on. Is this happening to anyone else? Please help me with what's going on. I don't know what's wrong. My phone is currently rooted, but I'm running on its original rom. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    445
    What mods have you done, if any? Also have you tried a factory reset? There may be an app that is screwing up the start up?
     
  3. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    maybe try returning the phone to factory, otherwise I would get a replacement asap.
     
  4. captivatethis

    captivatethis New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the first couple days I had it, I used z4root and tried the cognition rom. But I wanted stock back. So I removed the rom and did a factory reset.
     
  5. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    445
    Cognition uses the voodoo lag fix; [edit, thank you sremick]then the z4mod (which is what I think you mean) is another lag fix; and they do not work together, the issue is since you did not disable them before you reset things are wonky. Best thing to do is a complete reflash. I strongly recommend using the odin one click to go back to 99.9% stock (android 2.1, root...), then use cognition from start. Cognition automatically runs Voodoo, so you do not need to do a lag fix
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Actually z4root isn't a lagfix... it's root-only, also made by RyanZA.
     
    james27007 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...