Captivate - Unsigned Apps? AT&T Lockdown?


Last Updated:

  1. kpenning

    kpenning Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    66
    Does anyone know if there will be any unsigned apps on the captivate for AT&T? App sideloading? Or is ATT gonna lock this one down like the Aria and Backflip?

    Engadget preview said:
    "happy to see AT&T hasn't done much to the OS"
    "AT&T may have been accused of crippling its Android phones, but the Samsung Captivate -- one of the US versions of the Galaxy S -- is about to change all of that."

    But they don't mention whether or not they've disabled app sideloading and unsigned apps.

    Any clues?
     

    Advertisement
  2. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    AT&T's Android website seems to imply that they think the no-sideloading thing isn't a big deal and will be the case on all of their Android phones. I tend to agree with them that it's not a big deal.
     
  3. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    I think it'll prolly be the case as well, & I also don't think it's going to be a big deal... until I go to try to install an app that I rly want that just happens to not be in the app store @ the time. Heh.
     
  4. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    My opinion, it both is and isn't a big deal. It is, because they're taking away native features of android which is a load. They also, I believe, take away tethering as well by default. So they're taking away key features so it doesn't compete with the jesus phone.

    However, if you know enough to know that it's bad, and why, you can also get around it fairly easily. So...it's really not so bad because it just takes one more step to get around, and it can be done in 15 seconds.
     
  5. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've read in manh places that they are going to allow only Android Market apps. that would mean we'll have to figure out how to side load.
     
  6. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'm sure they will take away sideloading. Their site has a general FAQ answer on it. Not a big deal? For most folks no, but we'll find a way. Just stupid that they make the people who want to be able to do this work harder to do it.

    As for tethering no doubt they'll strip that out even though its listed as an integral app of the Samsung Galaxy S on their page. (as in one of the reasons you should get this phone!) but since this is 'not' a galaxy S they can do what they wish.

    All this monkeying with the original design of the phone is, unfortunately, one of the big strikes against it because any time we want to get an update not only will we need to wait on Samsung, but also on AT&T since the rom upgrade will have to through 2 sets of bureaucracies it could mean bad news for us and 2.2.

    Lets hope we get some good ROM cookers on this one and that they can pull pieces from the original Galaxy S and match them up with this thing.
     
  7. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah. Hope. Problem is, if we purchase it soon, it may not happen. If we wait until they arrive, this phone may be old hat.

    If I could find an original SGS, that plays with all of AT&T's frequencies, I'd rather have that. But from what I've seen only 1900 on the STS, no 850.
     
  8. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    You won't find one that works on AT&T unless one of the Canadian carriers get it, which is possible, but not really worth waiting I think. Plus who knows what the unlocked price of this badboy's gonna be.
     
  9. phil_

    phil_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    We'll have to see I suppose. I would love to be able to toy with it, it'll be my first android. If it's really not looking good for androids when I go to renew my contract, I think i'll be stuck with getting the Nokia N8 (which I hear is not an android?), or an iphone *sigh*
     
  10. DontMindMe

    DontMindMe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    I read somewhere, i cant find it now because of the 20 or so links in my history to Captivate review pages, but i read that they would allow sideloading apps on this one.
     
  11. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm pretty sure they were mistaken. But again, I've read a lot that there are ways around that.
     
  12. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    I think it better that we go by AT&T's own FAQ page on Android. They state they will not allow loading of unsigned applications for the security of the device. This must mean for any AT&T sanctioned phone it aint gonna happen by normal means...so for now we get around it cause they suck...
     
  13. Aftashok

    Aftashok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    questions from a relative Android newcomer.....

    a.) are people relatively certain that there WILL be a way to circumvent this to be able to load non-Market apps onto the Captivate?

    and b.) is there a lot thats missed out on, so to speak, as far as apps that ARENT in the Market, for whatever reason?
     
  14. kpenning

    kpenning Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    66
    A.) We've already confirmed on test units that this can be overcome in the same way as on the Aria and Backflip with ADB via command line.

    B.) Not toooo much. Plus, there's easy ways to get around the restrictions. ^^^
     
  15. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    Once i have the phone, I make a QAD that could add a rightclick context sensitive command to windows that will run adb if you right click and choose that action on a apk file. Much like CabViaActiveSync that many from xda use for windows phones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...