Captivate won't send picture messages?!Support


Last Updated:

  1. 86Steph04

    86Steph04 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. I am wondering if anyone else is having problems with their Samsung Captivate sending picture messages. THEY WON'T send! This is the 2nd phone I've had because the other one was having "seizure like activity" and this is the new one I got yesterday and it STILL WILL NOT send picture messages. I tried directly from the pictur and also by creating a new message and attaching the file. Does anyone know? PLEASE HELP! Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pinetree09

    Pinetree09 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can't send picture messages on Edge, but I can on 3G, k
     
  3. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    I feel your frustration. I noticed mine wont send MMS messages either through the Edge network. But when Im in 3G, it sends fine. Which is messed up because my BlackBerry never did that.
     
  4. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    I have the same problem when sending from edge. However I can send pictures I take with FxCamera(free download in android market) and it sends those without any problem.
     
  5. brefmint

    brefmint Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having the same problem under Edge. ATT doesn't have a clue what's going on with it.
     
  6. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well they better fix it because we all pay to send picture messages.
     
  7. jbur3n

    jbur3n New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    so have the same issue, to this point, it is a non-3g issue so far. I cannot send from home (edge, no 3g). Once in a 3g network, I can send anything.
     
  8. sgennuso

    sgennuso Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    This may be a stupid idea, but its what happened to me. When I switched from my iphone to 3g, Att switches everything over by unchecking your features on one phone and re-checking the options to the new phone, but by default MMS isn't checked therefore is de-selected and shut off. I had to call AT&T to get the MMS put back on. They said its a bug in their system and that it happens all the time.
     
  9. lotreaglesfan

    lotreaglesfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    i went to att and complained about this and they mentioned something about on my profile (that only they can access.... like the coding stuff or whatever...) they have to check mark a certain box now (only with captivate?) that they didn't have to check before, and then it would work.

    i can't send on edge but i can with 3g... but i'm getting 3g here in branson on september 1st (FINALLY! :( ) so idc lol ;)
     
  10. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    MMS can send successful over EDGE if you take the photo on your phone, crop it so the size gets smaller for the file, and then it will send. Its the way Ive been doing it, and by Cropping it, it actually changed the file size dramatically. It has worked just about every time. Give that a shot.
     
    s.m.knipe likes this.
  11. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    hmmm

    i sent picture message out like every day
    this makes me a little nervous about
    the captivate
     
  12. mbranscum

    mbranscum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is a known issue that Samsung is aware of. The phone saves the pic at a larger size with no option to reduce it. In an edge area, it usually times out before it sends the pic. No problem in 3G areas.
     
  13. jbur3n

    jbur3n New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got off the phone with samsung, they said to call att, not their problem. I have reduced the file size of an image, and still will not send. What's really irritating is that I am less than 2 miles away from 3G access....
     
  14. RavenFox

    RavenFox VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Woah going to the AT&T store to ask about this.
     
  15. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Weird, I haven't had any issues sending pics...
     
  16. rmandujano76

    rmandujano76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cannot send MMS over 50kb . Its ok if I am just sending a picture don't bother me that much since i resize it with picsay . But really ticks me off when trying to forward a joke or something else that is sent to me and cannot be resized. My hubby works out of town and i use to send him messages with pics and music etc of out 8 month old but not no more . Att denies the problem and Samsung blames ATT. I sure hope the 2.2 update fixes it
     
  17. Aftashok

    Aftashok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    i use Handcent, set the limit to 100Kb, and i never have any problems sending with EDGE.
     
  18. JNKS

    JNKS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had this same problem, Call ATT customer service and they can fix this for you. I dont know what the exact problem is but call them and it will be fixed mine is working perfectly. I had to speak to level 2 support because I think I knew more than the first lady that offered to help, but the level 2 guy had it solved in minutes.
     
  19. jfrits13

    jfrits13 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I think it's ridiculous to crop and resize in order to send a pic. What I am noticing also, when sending a pic through email, it rotates the pic. Doesn't matter how I take it. Potrait or landscape. Very user unfriendly and frustrating beyond belief! Especially after using an iphone. Was ready to sell my iphone but may need to hold off a while.
     
  20. cul8orgator

    cul8orgator New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue, but seem to have found a way to send pictures. I resized my pics to small, create a draft with a picture ready to send, turn on my wi-fi and send my picture. It seems to work best while the wi-fi is connecting. Although the pictures are resized, they still come out large on my email, much like a hand held photo, but a little bigger. Hope this helps! :)
     
  21. thresherhorn

    thresherhorn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had this problem.

    Simply went online and used the "chat with tech" regarding "messaging".

    15 minutes and 1 phone reboot later, my picture messages were fully functional.
     
  22. jclbeldin

    jclbeldin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had a strange issue where I could recieve but not send picture mms messages. ATT support could not figure it out and had me try another phone with my sim card. They gave me a number to text a pic to (it worked). But my phone would still not send to my contacts. They blamed it on hardware and sent me a new phone. Before I even recieved the new phone I figured out the problem on my own. The phone, or gmail contacts (which I sync) was adding () around all the area codes of my phone numbers automatically. So if I entered 123-456-7890 it had changed it to (123) 456-7890. This was causing the error in server response message when trying to send picture texts. I removed the () and resaved the numbers on all my key contacts and the issue completely went away.
     
    mrstev likes this.
  23. mrstev

    mrstev New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, finally one of you smart bastards figured this out!!!
    I was pulling my hair out over this inability to send picture messages (but receive them fine). Spent endless hours with ATT tech support.
    Bagged those stupid parentheses like the last guy said, and BAM, problem solved!
    Thanks dude.
     
  24. Riteheer

    Riteheer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just had same problem, if I deleted the parenthesis it would let me send pic as attachment but not as mms.... called tech support and level 2 was wanting me to do a full hard reset.... NIGHTMARE, but he stumbled on the solution.... you can't send mms message with wifi enabled..... duh!
     
  25. automagrt

    automagrt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think that's true. Whenever I send an MMS with WiFi on it enables 3G to send it then turns it back off. WiFi remains on and connected. I am having the problem though where I can't send MMS messages on EDGE. Guess I'll give AT&T a call.
     

Share This Page

Loading...