• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [CDMA] Newb question - can't push recovery.img or su to sdcard

aespielberg

Lurker
Jan 15, 2012
Hi,

I'm really new to rooting and have some very novice questions. I just want root access now so I can remove the bloatware and have more developer freedom in the future.

Anyway, I'm following this guide:

forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1239821

I have my bootloader unlocked from the official HTC method.

but when I try to run the command

C:\Android Rooting Folder>adb push recovery.img /sdcard/

I get:

adb server is out of date. killing...
* daemon started successfully *
failed to copy 'recovery.img' to '/sdcard//recovery.img': Permission denied

I don't know why I'm getting this permission denied error. Am I running this from the right folder? This is the folder I created for the HTC method in which I have the adb, adbwinapi.dll, fastboot etc. I put the recovery and su in here.

Am I doing this right? It feels wrong because I have no reference to my H: drive where the phone is linked, but I don't know. What am I doing wrong?

Hi,

I'm really new to rooting and have some very novice questions. I just want root access now so I can remove the bloatware and have more developer freedom in the future.

Anyway, I'm following this guide:

forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1239821

I have my bootloader unlocked from the official HTC method.

but when I try to run the command

C:\Android Rooting Folder>adb push recovery.img /sdcard/

I get:

failed to copy 'recovery.img' to '/sdcard//recovery.img': Permission denied

I don't know why I'm getting this permission denied error. Am I running this from the right folder? This is the folder I created for the HTC method in which I have the adb, adbwinapi.dll, fastboot etc. I put the recovery and su in here.