Change an Icon


Last Updated:

  1. frishmans92

    frishmans92 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey yall, it seems I'm not alone in this but I want to change how an icon looks.

    I downloaded Handcent SMS. Which I LOVE btw. It makes messaging so much better. However, I want to either change the Icon, or the Text below it. It's smaller and stick out like a sore thumb. And shit the icon down, it's a bit too "high" in comparison to my other icons.

    How can I do this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. baddriver

    baddriver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. brickford5

    brickford5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like 'AnyCut' (the free version) or 'Better Cut' (paid version) gives you control to create a lot of shortcuts, change shortcut names as well as icons. They also have all different kinds of free icon sets...

    Both aps can be downloaded from the Marketplace
     
  4. notredewey

    notredewey Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried anycut, and it does work but instead of shrinking the icon it just cuts it off. Does bettercut shrink the icon down?
     
  5. frishmans92

    frishmans92 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, BetterCut worked, but I guess I couldn't find the icon that I wanted...hmm, not too sure what I want to do. Any other ideas?
     
  6. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    have you tried DXtop..the home replacement? you can customize icons with it.
     
  7. frishmans92

    frishmans92 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, I'm using GDE, even bought it, and I do LOVE it. However, I guess call me high maintenance. I just want it to show me my unread messages counter (1,2,3) like UnreadSMS. (However this force closes all the time and the text is a bit below all the others.)

    Can I edit a widget?
     
  8. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    no...just icons. i bought gde also but like dxtop alot better...it's 3 bucks too but has a free trial version.
     
  9. frishmans92

    frishmans92 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, really? Can you make it look like SenseUI? And you can't edit a widget (just the text below the icon of the widget). When it's to small.
     
  10. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    you can't change widgets at all,only icons.
     
  11. frishmans92

    frishmans92 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh man, for real? That's disappointing. Haha, is there anyway to make the "Messages" icon direct you to Handcent SMS?

    Or am I just too wishful? Haha
     
  12. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    that is the easiest fix. just set handcent to be your default and when you select messaging it will take you to handcent.
     
  13. crowell392

    crowell392 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is this done
     
  14. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    when you have handcent installed and select the messaging app you should be prompted to select which program you want to complete this with...handcent or messaging. check the box at the bottom of the window(use this as default) then select handcent.handcent should now be your default messaging app.
     
  15. crowell392

    crowell392 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not getting an option
     
  16. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    go to settings>applications>manage applications>handcent sms>clear defaults

    then go back into messaging and see if you get the option box
     

Share This Page

Loading...