Change CPU speed? Bugless beast?


Last Updated:

  1. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    I noticed I had the option to choose up to 1.2GHZ and stayed with 600mhz. How can I change this setting after I've selected it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    Seriously, you need to do some reading.
     
  3. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    I'm assuming you mean in ROM Manager when you downloaded the ROM. That setting determines what kernel it installs with the ROM. If you want a higher clock speed you will have to download a new kernel that supports it. They can be found in ROM manager but you have to make sure they will work with your ROM.

    P3Droid's kernels can be found here: P3Droid Kernels

    They are .zips you install through recovery and you do not wipe data/cache before doing so.
     
  4. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
  5. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah that is what I meant. What reading?
     
  6. Krisis

    Krisis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    The reading they are referring to is information about kernels (found in stickies) and in installation of Bugless Beast itself (see the links for the Bugless Beast FAQ). BB uses innate overclocking without the need for SetCPU, but it is based solely on the kernel you install and does not allow customization for profiles such as when charging, sleeping, etc. SetCPU will allow customization within the parameters of the kernel (the "slots").
     
  7. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Having a rooted phone and not even knowing what a CPU kernel does is just asking for trouble. I think that's what people are trying to point out. If you are going to have a rooted phone you need to read the stickies to know what you are doing.
     
  8. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    I always use SETCPU and with bugless beast I always choose 600mhz. I never said I didn't know what a cpu kernel was. I simply wanted to know if I could change it. I didn't know I had to reflash.
     
  9. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    if you use a 600mhz kernel there is no real need for setcpu since it will never go over 600. setcpu is used to set the over clocking or throttle it down in profiles on a kernel that supports higher rates. if you read the BB threads you will see that the other kernels are options which means they need to be flashed separately.
     
  10. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    This is my point. If you don't know that different speed kernels, 1100, 1200, LV, SV, etc need to be flashed, then you need to do some reading on these forums.

    Just because ROM Manager offers point and click convenience doesn't excuse a user from knowing what is going on during the process.
     

Share This Page

Loading...