1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Change default map viewer from Locations to Google MapsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Bond13579

    Bond13579 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey! Just got my new HTC Amaze. I'm using my calendar app and one of the values I insert is the location. So whenever I look at my calendar and goto a certain event, I can click on the little map icon and I can get directions. The crappy thing is that the default map viewer is the one that comes with the phone. I believe it's called "Locations". I want to use Google Maps instead. Anyone have any clue how to change this?
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ChromeJob

    ChromeJob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    11
    Did you select one or another and check a "use by default" tick box? You can reset such "default" selections by going into Settings |Applciations |Manage Applications |All, and after clicking on the appropriate app click "clear defaults" under Launch default (similar to the Amaze User Guide instructions on p. 195 for clearing application cache and data).

    You might get familiar with Maps, Locations, Navigation a bit if you're not, they tend to look the same, and are somewhat integrated. E.g. Locations is a layer that can appear on Maps, and Navigation can be launched direct from Maps.

    Also ... ensure you've logged into the Market and updated to the latest versions of the apps. ;)
     
  3. Bond13579

    Bond13579 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I selected the location in my calendar for the first time, it never asked me which app to use... so no, I didn't set the app to use by default. I tried using "Locations" and it's Navigation but I don't like it compared to google maps and navigation.
     
  4. ChromeJob

    ChromeJob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't know you got to that state then. The default on my phone is that the location in an appointment offers a choice of Maps or this gawdawful Telenav GPS Navigator crapware, or Google Earth which I installed after the fact.
     
  5. anthgav

    anthgav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi, I have the same annoying problem on my HTC ONE X. There are no defaults to clear in the apps yet the Locations app is opened by default. It is really annoying me. Did you ever since this!
     
  6. xXchrizhurtyXx

    xXchrizhurtyXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    216
    way to bring this post back lol
    why dont you just disable Locations app.
     
  7. anthgav

    anthgav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    22
    The app came as standard with the phone and can not be removed or disabled in anyway. It has invaded the default for links to maps from contacts addresses, there doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it.
     
  8. xXchrizhurtyXx

    xXchrizhurtyXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    216
    You actually can! Its very easy and safe.

    To totally disable a bloatware app from your HTC One X, you would need to go to the Application settings.

    Here are the steps to follow:
    -Go to Settings section
    -Select Application settings
    -Select the tab for All the applications
    -Select the application that you want to disable.
    -Click on Disable.
    Confirm the disabling by clicking OK.
     
    AndroSwede likes this.
  9. anthgav

    anthgav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    22
    Unfortunately the disabled option is greyed out.
     
  10. xXchrizhurtyXx

    xXchrizhurtyXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    216
    Thats wierd....
    Ummm then i guess the only option left is to root and Titanium Backup Delete it
     
  11. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    The reason you and like most are having the issue is because of apple! Apparently apply is the only company who can use the pop up option to select an app you wish to use. The went after HTC for it and won. HTC's work around is to just open almost everything via web. Personally I am pissed and want to root my phone and remove the htclinkify that is controlling this problem. Only way to fix is root. I would get the link but I'm on my phone. When I get to a pc ill provide the info I am referring too


    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1675717

    Better link:

    http://www.xda-developers.com/android/how-to-remove-htclinkify-easily/


    Once again must be rooted i just checked and tried on a non rooted phone. Root Explorer says you have to be rooted find out how to root your phone via google. LOL
     
  12. xXchrizhurtyXx

    xXchrizhurtyXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    216
    [How-To] Remove HTClinkifydispatcher.apk to open URLs directly to their apps - xda-developers
    Better link lol.
     
  13. Bond13579

    Bond13579 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so yeah... I'm still having this issue. Still don't see the solution.
     
  14. kmjones77

    kmjones77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. Bond13579

    Bond13579 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. anthgav

    anthgav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah thanks, you are a life saver, it was really annoying me. It's unbelievable that Google maps isn't the default maps app, especially on an android phone.

    Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
     
  17. 1BlinkGone

    1BlinkGone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    8
  18. ChromeJob

    ChromeJob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    11
    And probably unnecessary. Just go to Settings | Apps | All and find the Maps app, click Clear Defaults. Done.
     

Share This Page

Loading...