Change phone name? Samsung galaxy s2Support


Last Updated:

  1. fonduekid

    fonduekid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi people,

    Is it possible to change / set a new name for the phone / device? And is yes, how can it be done?

    Thanks in advance. Cheers...
     

    Advertisement
  2. scotty001

    scotty001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    16
    Im Guessing you mean for Bluetooth connections ?? if so then

    Settings > Wireless and Network > Bluetooth Settings > Device Name

    If its the name that's displayed in Kies

    Connect phone and run Kies in the top left where it has the phone name, click on that and when highlighted manually chnage the name to wha you want it to be
     
    fonduekid likes this.
  3. fonduekid

    fonduekid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks...

    Yes, I figured out the 'device name' setting under bluetooth settings and I've done that.. But the Kies I didn't know. Thanks for that.

    Also, previously (before ICS update), I had a name for my phone and it used to show up in the android market whenever I wanted to download an app / look for user reviews etc..

    But now, it just says GT I9100 as my device.. changing the name in Kies / bluetooth settings will also show up in the android market (currently google play)??
     
  4. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    16
    Down the bottom of the market click "My orders & Devices" then "Devices" tab.
    Here you can change the name that shows up on the Market installation page
     
    fonduekid likes this.
  5. fonduekid

    fonduekid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice.. :) Thanks a lot for that.

    Cheers.
     
  6. graciecakes

    graciecakes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for hints I just uploaded the new softwareon my phone and my car's bluetooth wouldn't recognise the new phone name as it changed from Galaxy to adt and a number. so I wanted to change it. on the s2 you also have to press the bottom left hand button for the device change name to appear after you go into bluetooth. :)
    Hopefully my car will speak to my phone again!
     
  7. ilordvader

    ilordvader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    I changed Device name a in Bluetooth setting Thanks

    But how to change Device name that shows up when we make our phone as Hot spot

    Please
     
  8. evohicks

    evohicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    166
    In ICS,
    Settings/More/Tethering and portable hotspot/Configure Wi-Fi Hotspot/Network SSID.
     
  9. ilordvader

    ilordvader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    thanks alot :)
     
  10. LuckyStar

    LuckyStar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about changing the WIFI netbios name on the phone?
    I see my phone on a WIFI router devices list such as android-f4a558db590xxxxx
     
  11. evohicks

    evohicks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    166
    This has to be done on the router I think, at least on my Home Hub 3 it did, you can rename it in settings> home network I think.
     
  12. LuckyStar

    LuckyStar Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you believe it is a hardcoded value in the phone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...