Change primary google account?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Point202

    Point202 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Samsung Moment, that is running the stock Android 2.1 system released by Sprint. I signed up for a Gmail account when I got the phone. I also run my own domain, and have just migrated my domain's email and calendar to Google Apps. I would like to set my phone up to sync everything from my Google Apps account rather than the random Gmail account I signed up for when I got the phone.

    Is there any way to achieve this without doing a Factory Data Reset?

    I am willing to do the Factory Data Reset if I have to, but if I need to go through that process, are there any procedures I should follow to backup important data before hand? Also, will the reset take me back to 1.5?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dntesinfrno

    dntesinfrno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    71
    Go to menu>settings>Accounts & sync settings. From here you can manage your sync accounts. The only thing you might run in to if you have the same contacts on each account you may get duplicates.
     
  3. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    A reset will not take you to 1.5, as for the rest I have no clue.
     
  4. Point202

    Point202 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have been able to add the new Google Apps account, and have mail setup to sync just fine. But I want to delete the original Google account so that my calendar and contacts also sync to new Google Apps account. It won't allow me to delete the original Google account from Accounts & Sync Settings.
     
  5. Point202

    Point202 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? So the reset will keep it at 2.1? If that's the case, I just may do the reset and deal with reinstalling all the apps. I only have two that I've paid for, and I'm willing to pay for them again...
     
  6. dntesinfrno

    dntesinfrno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    71
    Yes, the 1.5 installation no longer exists, unless you flash it back with the sprint updater so no worries there. As far as the apps go, you would have to log in to the account that owns them in order not to have to pay for them again. I only have one google account so im unsure about removing them from sync. Seems to me if you reset your phone and log in to your new google apps account first that will make it the primary account and then you *should* be able to add the gmail account you created for the phone and download your paid apps. You would have to keep that account on the phone in order to receive any updates for those apps however.

    Edit : I just added a second account to my phone and didnt follow through past the warning that it would delete all messages/contacts etc but there is a remove option. In the accounts & sync menu tap on the account you want to remove and at the bottom there is a grey button for remove. It worked fine to remove the second account.
     
  7. Point202

    Point202 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. Yes, there is a remove button in Accounts & Sync, but the phone won't permit you to delete the primary google account without doing a reset. I just went ahead and did the reset, entered my new Google account information when it reloaded and am in the process of redownloading my applications now... The Market logs you in based on the primary Google information in the phone, so I do have to pay for the two I have purchased, but I am OK with that.
     
  8. GordonBombay

    GordonBombay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone found a way around doing a factory reset? I have the same problem...

    If i do have to do a factory reset, how can i get back to speed quickly? I would hate to lose my linked contacts, apps, calendar appointments, and homescreen layout...

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
     
  9. htcman724

    htcman724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    86
    all you have to do is do a backup of the system and you can keep eveything just pick the file apart on your comp.you wouldn't have had to repay for the apps.
     
    GordonBombay likes this.
  10. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    My BackupPro will backup all these and restore them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...