Change shortcuts in notification bar?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Gink

    Gink Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    11
    I bit the bullet today and got a Fascinate. When I was playing around with the Captivate at the store I noticed the shortcuts when you pull down the notification bar, the ones at the store were silent, vib only, etc.

    Now that I'm playing around with the Fascinate I find that its shorcuts are BT, WiFi, etc. Is there a way to change the shortcuts that are displayed when you pull down the notification bar? I can't seem to figure out how to do it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. s44

    s44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes, there is, but it involves getting down and dirty with the system files (specifically, editing the framework-res.apk).
     
  3. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Hmmm, never even thought of the options in the notification bar were swappable; which Im sure they are not per se. But, yes of course there must be someway to hack thru it via SDK or something. That is above my head right now however. I think, some of these customs ROM's coming out for other Galaxy S phones can/will/do have different options from the default
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    You're probably looking for a menu option in the Fascinate that would allow for configuration of that shortcut bar. No such option exists in 2.1.

    As has been mentioned here, it would take a clever hack to customize that, although I'm wondering if Froyo will include such modifications (doubtful ;)).
     
  5. Gink

    Gink Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks Frisco. Best Buy didn't have a working Fascinate but I was told that the Captivate interface was similar. I just assumed that meant those shortcuts would be the same - bummer. :(
     
  6. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah truly all the Galaxy S phones are similar and sometimes have exactly the same parts [cpu, gpu, screen] but equally true and especially on the software side there are notable differences. Its why I call the Captivate the cousin to our SF not the sister
     
  7. Cuda52774

    Cuda52774 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Download Quick Settings app. It's free. It has the buttons you're looking for.

    Cuda
     

Share This Page

Loading...