Change the bottom bar layoutGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    Is there a way to have a different look for the bottom bar?

    I use the up arrow for accessing all apps, but then the phone button is huge, and the + button is completely pointless.

    I know you can do this using LP and others, but I want to keep sense. Is this possible?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Yes, change ROMs (if you are rooted). There are TONS of stable Sense based ROMs out there. I really like Virtuous 3.0.1 with Revolution theme over it. Anyway, there are many others, take a look around you will find something you like.
     
  3. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    I'm thinking he is probable not rooted.

    So OP are you stating you want to keep sense because of sense's widgets? LP has some good alternative widgets, still not sense though. I agree the "+" is pointless.

    You could give LP a try (you still hang on to other sense goodies like the UI minus the widgets) and LP does have a few custom docks (on the "LP icon" app on market) that resemble the sense bar, but with browser and sms where the "+" is located. You'll have to do a bit of research to accomplish this LP has their own forum for all the info you need.

    Or you can root and your option door opens to a whole new world.
     
  4. falcon26

    falcon26 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    If yo have your phone rooted already, how easy or hard is it to install custom ROM's? Is it just a one click exe file or are their alot of other things you need to do first?

    Thanks
     
  5. albnyblows

    albnyblows Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's pretty much one click... You save the ROM to your SD card, and then use "ROM Manager" (free download from the market) to install them. ROM Manager also makes it easy to save restore points if something happens from a custom ROM you don't like.
     
  6. Darebrokenheart

    Darebrokenheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are these roms in the root forums or I have to Google them since it is easy to install from what was posted in this thread?
     
  7. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Yes they can be found here --> Incredible - ROMs - Android Forums or here --> Droid Incredible Android Development - xda-developers or if you download ROM Manager for free in the market, you can download them from the app itself. Actually that is the easiest method. If you check "back up current rom" before you flash a new one, you can always go back through recovery if something goes wrong and go back exactly how your phone was prior to flashing the new ROM.
     
  8. d_mon1

    d_mon1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead. But I too was wondering if there was a way to remap the three button lay out from Virtuous 3.1.0 with sense. I did try SkyRaider which game me that option but I would like to stick with Virtuous. It's not that big of deal if it can't be done on Virtuous but I hate the useless "+" button. Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Emoney53

    Emoney53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    16

    [THEME] color sexy rosie (UPDATE) Wide red sexy rosie - xda-developers

    this thread has a bunch of rosies in it but if you really want to get into rooting your phone always go to xda. androidforums is more for questions i would say.
     
  10. d_mon1

    d_mon1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link, and my phone is rooted already. I just wanted to remapp the three Virtuous button layout. But I guess it can't be done (yet) without installing a different launcher from other themes besides sense.
     
  11. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9

    install the theme over virtuous, just make sure you don't wipe before you install
     
  12. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    im using the new mod, got the stock deodexed rom, stock rosie, apps button in the middle and phone to the left, MMS to the right. living it,
     
  13. d_mon1

    d_mon1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! That's exactly what I'm looking for, I just don't know where or what the stock deodexed rom is. Or stock rosie for that matter. I would love to have the same button config you have but have the settings on the right button instead.

    Would you happen to know if there's a tutorial or something similar on how to do this?
     
  14. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    im confused what u have. do u have the site?
     
  15. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    here is the site for stock deodexed ROM
    here


    this is for the rosie.apk mpd
    here

    it will explain what to do once you are on the deodexed ROM, and yes you need to be.


    Rosie.apk is the bottom bar, for HTC Sense
     
    d_mon1 likes this.
  16. paulmz

    paulmz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    619
    Really, just use LauncherPro. There isn't much that Sense has that LauncherPro and other apps can't mimic. And using a different Launcher is easy to install and really customizable.

    I currently use LauncherPro and I don't miss Sense at all. The new launcher is faster and easier to use (in my opinion). No rooting or ROMs required!
     
  17. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah I switched to LP a couple weeks ago.

    Thinking about getting the full version, but not sure what I would use it for. I'm pretty satisfied with it as is.
     
  18. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    IMO LP is just ugly in comparison to Sense.
     
  19. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    What's ugly about it?
     
  20. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    It's just not as nice as Sense to me, too plain and not polished. I tried it and ADW for a while and kept going back to Sense every time.
     
  21. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    Can you name something you can do with sense that you cannot with LP?

    Used to be widgets but they have added widgets.

    As for it being ugly (see previous post), I can make Launcher look exactly like Sense if I wanted. But using Dock backgrounds, it is MUCH better looking.

    I like sense a ton, but Launcher more.
     
  22. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah I didnt really like LP the first time I tried it.

    Then I spent some time looking for icons and some free apps and now I like it a lot.

    So much simpler and cleaner. I love the scrolling dock and swype actions too.

    With sense all of my screens were full. Now I have all the same stuff on LP with just 3 and its much cleaner.
     
  23. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    I didn't say anything about functionality, I'm talking purely about looks. I have 3 completely empty home screens on mine.

    You can make lp have the grey bottom that has a small arc exactly like sense?
     
  24. BORIStheBLADE

    BORIStheBLADE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since you guys have mentioned rooting I figured I would ask this question.

    Once rooted you can't do updates right? You have to wait for a new rom to come out?

    Can you go back to your original Rom like you never rooted?

    thanks
     
  25. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, you can put the phone back to stock if you are rooted and running a different rom. There are some sweet roms out there for sure.

    You can do updates from the market just not maintenance updates from verizon until it is implemented in the rom you are using by the creator.
     

Share This Page

Loading...