Changing Default Home Screen


Last Updated:

  1. modest_16081982

    modest_16081982 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S (Vibrant) with Android 2.1. Right now I have 7 home screens but it is very annoying that the middle home screen (no. 4) becomes the default home screen (when you press the Home icon). I want to make Home Screen No. 1 (left most) to be default.

    Is there a way to do with without installing apps like Launcher Pro?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Yes. From the homescreen:

    Press menu

    Edit

    Then you can go to the screen you want, and select Make as Home
     
  3. modest_16081982

    modest_16081982 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see the "Make as Home" option. All I see is just two options: "Save" and "Discard"
     
  4. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    When you scroll over to the screen you want, there should be a gray bar across the screen that states "set as home"
     
  5. modest_16081982

    modest_16081982 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    May be in your version of Android. In my I do not see any kind of gray bar. The only way I can set my screen as the default home screen is by moving it to number 4 position.

    What kind of device are you using? Can you post a screen shot of that gray bar that you are talking about?
     
  6. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Just took 2 pics. This is after i hit: Menu-Edit

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. modest_16081982

    modest_16081982 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that you have Verizon version. The T-Mobile Android version (2.1-update1) does not have this option unfortunately.

    Thanks very much for the effort though. Really appreciate it.
     
  8. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Yes. i have the Verizon version.

    But, it has nothing to do with 2.1-update 1. This is the same OS im running.

    Im assuming its Verizon's version of TouchWiz
     
  9. yiyi1215

    yiyi1215 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you know if you can have different wall papers for the different screens? the wall paper i chose stretches across my 3 home screens, and i wanted different pictures for each home screen
     

Share This Page

Loading...