1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Cheapest way to sync Outlook 2010 to an Android phone?

Last Updated:

1. Kelemvor

Kelemvor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Howdy,

I'm brand new to the Android world and, in fact, don't even have a phone yet. However, I'll be picking up the LG Optimus S w/Sprint in the next day or so.

All my information (email, calendar, contacts, notes, etc) are all managed in Outlook (stand alone, not Exchange). I've been told that there's no way to sync directly from Outlook to an Android phone so I'm looking for the cheapest way to accomplish that and have good results.

My emails come through Gmail so that part is already done.
    I use Google's Calendar Sync program so my calendar is already in my Gmail account so that is also done.

The contacts and notes are only in Outlook so that's where my main question lies.

I've been pointed to the program called Gsyncit which seems to be $20. This looks to sync everything from Outlook to Gmail and hence to the phone. Since I already use Google's calendar sync, O don't need Gsyncit for that but if I use it for contacts and tasks, I guess I might as well use it for the calendar as well.

I've also heard of CompanionLink but that's $40 and seems to accomplish the same thing.

Anyone have any other recommendations that might be free or under $20? I'd prefer having this all done wirelessly but if there's a free way to do it via USB, I'd at least consider that option.

Thanks for any help.

Advertisement
  2. cron912

cron912 Well-Known Member

I haven't tried it myself, but the Sourceforge project 'go contact sync' might work for you. Although, I believe it sync's between Outlook and Gmail Contacts, not your phone.

3. sitlet

sitlet Banned

You can export your contacts to a csv file, then login to your gmail on your computer and import that file.

4. Kelemvor

Kelemvor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter