"Chipmunk" sound from speaker??

Last Updated:

1. megush

megush Member This Topic's Starter

Today is the first time this has happened & it is very weird.

I use Google Voice and have all of my messages play via the speaker by default. I was listening to a message and in the middle of it, the voice of the caller sounded like Alvin & his chipmunk friends (higher pitch/tone, faster speed, etc.). It did it w/ one other GV message and then didn't do it again w/ GV so I didn't think much of it.

A few hours later I was listening to a podcast w/ the Listen app & the chipmunk voices kept coming and going during the broadcast.

Tried playing a few tracks w/ the standard music player & same thing.

Doesn't seem to be an issue w/ YouTube & definitely has not happened during voice calls.

Any ideas?

BTW - I am not a techie, so please try layman's terms ;-) and I have not rooted my Droid, whatever that means

Advertisement
  2. Droid421

Droid421 Active Member

Same thing just happened to mine for the first time today.

First, it was the alarm app (stock). When it went off, it was set to play an mp3 file from the SD card. It was playing faster and higher pitched than normal.

The second time was when the "Droid" notification for a text was playing and half way through the phone saying "droid" I got a notification for an email and the pitch and speed jumped up again.

I just started the "mixzing" music app and it started playing fast again. It is switching back and forth between normal and higher pitched/speed at seemingly random intervals.

For anyone that may be able to troubleshoot this:
    -I have not rooted the phone and not yet received the update scheduled for this week
    -I have home++ installed, and have for several months with no problem.
    -I haven't made any changes to the phone settings or apps in the last few days (and it started today) except for a few updates of currently installed apps, none of which should cause this- mainly games.