Clean the camera lens

1. cpetku

cpetku Well-Known Member

When I started playing with my new Droid (4409) I saw that it had the same auto-focus issues that everyone else complained about. Setting the unit to action made it focus at infinity, so somewhat better but I couldn't get shopsavy to recognize any barcodes. I cleaned the lens even though it didn't seem dirty and now Shopsavy locks onto bar codes and the unit seems to Auto-focus with just about 100% lock (green corners). Could some of the problems people are having just be be caused by lens placement and skin oils?

Advertisement
  2. BigPat

BigPat Member

Good God! Green Corners! I've never seen those before! You're right! I just took ~15 pics in a row all got green corners. Then tried the barcode scanner, got it on the first focus every time!
  3. galt

galt Well-Known Member

I rate thie thread a "Double Duh". :eek: So obvious even I didn't think of it. :D
  4. cpetku

cpetku Well-Known Member

Guys, keep votiing on this one, I think it may need to become a sticky under tips...

What is the 12/11 SW fix? If there's an oily spot on the lens and they make it lock by averaging the edge detection algorithm, the picture will still look like the devil (I've had that issue on higher end cameras).

I'm hoping that the SW fix (whatever it is) includes a lower setting for the Flashas well since it causes the photo's to wash out. They're still a bit grainy and focus still doesn't approach the quality of my Lumix cameras, but face it, these optics are pretty limited.

Make sure you set the focus back to AUTO in the settings. You should hear the stepper motor click a few times as it figures out focus then get green corners!

I've also been playing with the camera pixel settings and fineness to improve the shopsavy recognition. ShopSavy Seems to work pretty well now whereas it didn't work at all this afternoon....
  5. jroryl

jroryl Active Member

Fine, make me look like an idiot, works!!
  6. Derekv

Derekv Member