cleared data/cache on rom install


Last Updated:

  1. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    so yea, i cleared this on reinstalling the superclean rom and it deleted all my contacts along with cwm, root explorer, etc.. unfortunately i have to sign back into my gmail to download all these from the anrdroid marketplace but i forgot the password since i just created the account last week and never used it other than on my phone... sooo i want to install the backup i made but i don't have cwm or rom manager.. can i use odin to install my backup and how if it's possible??? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    how did you install a rom with cwr? how did you make a backup without cwr?
     
  3. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, rom manager was in the "etc" in my first post. anyways, i made a back up in rom manager i believe, but when i reinstalled I chose to wipe data/cache since that was recommended in other posts when reinstalling and all my installed market apps were deleted when my phone rebooted (cwm, rom manager, set cpu, root explorer) along with my contacts

    I guess I could re-enter all my phone numbers but I'd have to make another g-mail account since google won't reset my password, so now I can't sign into the market to re-download cwm, rom manager, etc..
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you have to have clockwork recovery installed to make/use backups..did you ever push that in odin?

    sorry about your google account though...id try calling customer service or something if you cant remember/reset your password and forgot the login hints.
     
  5. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea i used odin to install the recovery, i made 2 backups before flashing the super clean rom with rom manager. Now clockwork doesn't show up in my list of installed apps nor do i have any kind of explorer to view my files on my sdcard
     
  6. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    you cant get to your backups in root explorer

    you have to boot into cwr....if you cant d/l rom manager....

    battery pull...hold both volume keys then power...you will boot into regular recovery...click apply update.zip and you will boot into cwr

    navigate down to backup/restore and restore one of these backups
     
    drbenne likes this.
  7. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool, thank you. that worked. hopefully I can reset my gmail password from here now.

    So, how do i backup my contacts if i want to wipe data/cache?
     
  8. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    your contacts should back up to gmail if you have sync on and if you make them google contacts not phone.

    however you can also back them up to your sdcard in contacts menu-more-export/import-export to sdcard

    it will save in vcf format on ur card

    then to restore them do the same thing except pick import :)
     
  9. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, next question: since i have to be signed into my account to access the market and since i already purchased several apps, am i able to save these apps externally then install them again if i have to make another account should i decide to wipe data/cache again? This way I don't have to pay for these apps again since i already paid with my current account that i can't access
     
  10. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    *if* you have root explorer (and btw dont do this for sharing apps with friends, support our devs! :)) it is possible.

    go into data/app and all of your installed apps are there.

    copy and paste them onto your sdcard.

    but again...please dont give them away if they are paid apps :eek:
     
  11. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, btw I'm studying android app development right now so I'm all for developer compensation :cool:

    of course ill still try to recover my password but it's not looking good, this'll be my last resort
     
  12. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yeah i wasnt accusing you of doing anything...but as others may read this thread, ya never know who will do what :rolleyes:
     
  13. skipster

    skipster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Another way is to use Titanium Backup to backup and recover... i just recovered a bunch of apps while my market was hosed.
     
  14. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yes, you can do that (and i do).

    however now that titanium is buyable in market i dont know if it works the same way as my older one that you put a license on the sdcard from the developer and then just redownload the free version from the market.

    if its a paid app in market and you buy it and then have a different google account ud have to repay.

    i dont know how the pay in market one works now.
     
  15. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    How does titanium backup differ from the one in rom manager?

    Btw, i realized i still fell in the 24 hour refund grace period for all the apps I bought. So if i have to make a new account i don't have to repurchase.
     
  16. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    Totally off subject but just wanted to say to drbenne I love the avatar!
     
  17. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    titanium backup isnt a nandroid backup that rom manager does through cwr.

    it just backups your apps and app data so you can restore it when you wipe data for a new rom. coming from an incredible its a must have with all the rom flashing i did there.

    here i always wipe with a new rom as well out of habit, so again must have :)

    actually i dont think its possible to really be a flashing addict without owning root explorer and titanium backup/my backuppro and to an extent set cpu
     
  18. drbenne

    drbenne Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D

    gotcha...sounds like something i may need to invest in since i foresee myself becoming an addict too.. haha

    i never had this much fun with my blackberry :cool:
     
  19. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yup it wasnt that long ago i was telling people my blackberry was the best thing in the world
     

Share This Page

Loading...