Clearing App dataSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Case

    Case Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    I kept getting a low on space warning so I decided to go into the 'Managing Applications' menu and found some apps had a large 'Data' reading.

    The Twitter app in particular was using just under 10mb.

    I decided to click the 'Clear Data' button and it warned me that this would clear all my account settings etc but I thought I'd give it a try.

    Anyway, it brought the data level right down to virtually nothing and my Twitter app didn't lose any of my account settings. I didn't even need to sign in again and everything works like it did before and I now have some free space.

    I did the same with the Facebook app. The data has come right down, I was required to sign in again with this though.

    I had about 13mb of space left before, now I have 45mb.

    So... is this something we need to do periodically in order to free up space? Do certain apps just continue to build up data until we clear them out?
     

    Advertisement
    yenrod and TremF like this.
  2. TremF

    TremF Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm sorry I can't answer your question but I am glad you took the leap and cleared the data. I have looked at that too but I wasn't sure what sort of effect it would have on the app usage. :)
     
  3. Case

    Case Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    No probs. I use the NewsRoom app for my rss feeds. I noticed that was using 20mb of data so I backed up my feeds and cleared that data.

    I did have to add my feeds again (took 2 seconds using the backup) and now data is down to 3mb - even after getting all the latest articles.
     
  4. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    I have just looked at various apps and mine doesn't give me an option to clear data. The button under the data figure says 'uninstall' on it :confused:
     
  5. Case

    Case Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are you using 2.2? I am, although I dunno if that makes a difference.

    Under the data figure I see a 'Clear Data' and a 'Move to SD Card' button (which is greyed out on the apps which don't have this option)
     
  6. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    No I'm still on 2.1 (waiting for T Mobile to release 2.2) so that must be why.
     
  7. DCFC79

    DCFC79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    7

    yes some apps have stored data and other dont, i had a family guy puzzle game and it stored some data and when i cleared the data the game started from the start
     
  8. oOoMAJESTICoOo

    oOoMAJESTICoOo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Would clearing the data for facebook remove pics ive linked to my phone contacts?
     
  9. Case

    Case Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    It hasn't done anything to mine. To be honest, I've got no idea what it clears. But there was about 6mb of it.

    I'll probably find out eventually that I've messed something up.
     
  10. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    22
    don't delete the htc sense data, as it will kill all your backgrounds and icon placings.
     
    yenrod and oOoMAJESTICoOo like this.
  11. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Interesting thread.

    You can save a lot of space by deleting the cache of various apps. I haven't actually delete the data myself - I was worried it would cause problems or hassle with the particular app.
     
  12. Case

    Case Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yea, I think you definitely need some common sense before you go deleting data for certain apps but for things like facebook, twitter, rss readers etc you can free up a lot of space and I'm still trying to discover what exactly I've cleared. It just seems to be redundant data.

    I still have all my facebook friends, people I follow on twitter etc and about 20mb more space.
     
  13. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    I cleared the data of the official Facebook and Twitter app, and in the process I managed to free up a lot of space - around 30MB in total.

    Since I did the above the Twitter up no longer refreshes automatically. It used to refresh at a set interval which I could choose, but this is no longer the case.

    Anybody else noticed this?

    Edit: Currently uninstalling the app. Will reinstall and see if it makes a difference.
     
  14. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    I guess youve cleared the setting for the updating ?
     
  15. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    I don't see how that would have been possible, as it's toggled on and off with a tick box. I ticked and unticked the box but it didn't make a difference.

    I've managed to sort the problem now. I had to uninstall the app, then reinstall it. I then had to tick the box and reboot the phone in order for the box to remain ticked.

    It now seems to be working properly. Although it's strange that I've had to go through so many steps to enable the app to refresh at certain intervals.
     
  16. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not great for the twitter app. for that to happen.

    Though they got it wrong on the recent update before last !!!
     
  17. riki1kenobi

    riki1kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    37
    The phone really needs an official auto cache cleaner (I know there is one out there somewhere but it requires root) and the app devs seriously need to adapt their code so that it doesnt hog memory un-necessarily. That is my main gripe with android. Trouble is, it is only going to get worse as the app creator software emerges and badly coded vampire apps start appearing on the market!
     
  18. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Agreed. This results in lots of memory hogging cache and data being placed on the internal memory and the SD card.

    It's got to the stage where I am regularly checking the SD card to see if any new folders have appeared and I am checking the cache and data of apps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...