clockworkmod 2.5.0.5 changes PB31IMG.zip to lowercase pb31img.zip


Last Updated:

  1. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this strange problem that I noticed this morning. Yesterday my new 32gb microsd arrived (which works perfect!). I migrated data from my old microsd to the new one. Then just for kicks I tried to flash a splash screen, as usual I put the PB31Img.zip to my sdcard and flashed. On HBoot I got the "wrong image or no image" message and it went on its way to rebooting fully. When I looked for the file, on Clockworkmod 2.5.0.5 it says "pb31img.zip" and when I view it in Astro file manager it says "PB31IMG.zip" and even on my Windows PC it says "PB31IMG.zip".

    Any ideas what might be causing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nnatic

    nnatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    same issue... cant downgrade now :( any ideas?
     
  3. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, are you S-OFF, if so, I think we can do the RUU downgrade (which will erase data) and then reinstall clockwork mod again?
     
  4. nnatic

    nnatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have been trying to figure out what the hell S-off is lol.

    i rooted with unrevoked 3. The phone i am having issues with (wife) has the froyo update but i know that installing it will cause issues. it is finding the update SOMEWHERE when i boot back up. i pulled my sd card (where i put the pb31... file) and put it in her phone rebooted, and it worked like a champ.

    I am in the middle of putting the leaked froyo.zip file on the card and updating that (although i need to lay the small ota after launch first).
     
  5. BigPapaCherry

    BigPapaCherry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to unroot as well and have run into this problem too. Anyone have any ideas on why the unroot won't work anymore?
     
  6. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    Clockwork and PB31IMG.zip have ABSOULTELY NOTHING to do with each other.

    Just put PB31IMG.zip on the root of sd card, and flash from hboot...not from cwm

    And please for the sanity for yourself....make sure:
    1. your sd is formatted to FAT32
    2. Make sure its PB31IMG.zip not .zip.zip or anything OTHER THAN PB31IMG.ZIP!
     
  7. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I did. but in clockworkmod it shows up as pb31img.zip and not PB31IMG.zip
     
  8. nnatic

    nnatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    this is a legit issue. i did my phone last night and had the exact same issue with my wife's. i looked all over the card and there was no update.zip on it...

    Everytime i put booted up it saw this update.zip... i still dont get how. I am VERY computer savvy and am an IT administrator...

    put the file on my sd card, but it in the wife's phone, ran the downgrade, then the ota that came out near launch, then the froyo update.

    This is a real issue.. no clue why... my phone went flawlessly. i know how to do it.. the phone just would not see it.
     
  9. BigPapaCherry

    BigPapaCherry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was a FAT32 problem. Formatted my card to FAT32 and it's working. Who knew that the cards shipped formatted in FAT?
     
  10. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    yea FAT32 is not default format. You have to do it.

    And letter case does not matter.
     
  11. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    OK, this is what happened on my phone:

    I went into HBOOT and the following message popped up:
    PB31DIAG.ZIP
    no image!
    PB31DIAG.NBH
    no image or wrong image!
    loading...PB31IMG.zip

    The phone loads up the zip file...then nothing happens. I've waited for up to 5 minutes before finally going into recovery and rebooting the phone. After rebooting, the phone is still rooted.

    As background:
    - My phone was rooted w/ Unrevoked3 and Unrevoked Forever
    - No leaked ROM's installed
    - I do have a Hydra kernel installed
    - My SD card has been reformatted to FAT32

    This is really starting to fry my nerves. Does anyone know what's going on here?
     
  12. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I reformatted to FAT 32 (64 kb allocation), reinstalled unrevoked and unrevoked forever, I still have the same issue of PB31IMG.zip as a "bad image or wrong image", while its still on the root of my sdcard.

    I have SkyRaider 3.0 RC3 with King BFS Kernel
    HBOOT .79 and 2.15.00.78 radio
     
  13. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    check the zip to make sure it isn't corrupt

    both cases sound like corrupt zips
     
  14. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    In my case it was pure user error. I didn't realize I had to extract the actual zip from within the same-named zip...confusing, but I probably should have opened the zip anyhow to see what was inside.
     
  15. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    haha it's pretty funny that they would even double zip that
     
  16. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still doesn't work for me. I have given up. But, on a sidenote, can I do an RUU go back to stock 2.1, get the update and flash another ROM? I am S-OFF
     
  17. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    yes you need to take your radio back too. and just search for a guide there are tons out there
     
  18. ladesidude

    ladesidude Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Wouldn't the RUU downgrade the radio since it wipes out the phone completely?:confused:
     
  19. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    RUU = Rom Upgrade Utility

    so it could just include the stock ROM. but there are ones available that have had the radio added to them.
     
  20. billnewl

    billnewl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I was having this same issue. Completely stuck being on SkyRaider 3.2 and I couldn't get anything to flash from bootloader/recovery or ClockWorkMod. Last resort, I took out my Kingston 32 GB card and put my 2 GB card in and put PB31IMG.zip on it and tried again from bootloader and it worked, No Problem. I'm assuming that the Bootloader and Recovery are not able to utilize a 32 GB card... Just buy a 2 GB for your flashing needs. :)
     
  21. upfront01

    upfront01 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having all the same problems also on the desire. Would it work if you just unzipped the file to the SD Card????
     
  22. upfront01

    upfront01 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    just checking but should the superuser icon have anything in it or is there only the 2 options when you hit the menue button?????
     
  23. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    Why all the ?????????????????????
    You might get more responses if you slow down a little and make a nice clear post so we understand what you are talking about.

    NO, unzipping the file to sd will not do anything for you.
    not sure what you are talking about in the second post.
     
    upfront01 likes this.
  24. upfront01

    upfront01 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have a bad experience with some question marks once apon a time. Oh and I'm not even going fast yet.... (?????????) Just 4 u :)
     
  25. elborak

    elborak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    37
    I assume he has a similar attitude to my own: reading posts with bad grammar, all caps, no caps, no punctuation, excessive punctuation, etc. is more difficult than reading proper English. And when you are asking for help, making things as easy as possible for those who might help you is a good idea.
     

Share This Page

Loading...