1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

clockworkmod 3.x


Last Updated:

  1. andrix10

    andrix10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey when will rom manager release the update to clockworkmod 3.0?
    just i dont want to manually flash it in order to install cm7
     

    Advertisement
  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    You don't need it to flash cm7
     
  3. andrix10

    andrix10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought u had to because gingerbread uses some new system or something like that
     
  4. sharp65

    sharp65 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope CWM 3.0 isn't required for CM7. I just flashed build #32 fine using 2.5.1.2
     
  5. HKM

    HKM Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    26
    Replace the current 2.5.1.2 with 2.5.1.4 as CM7 does requires CWM3.x just because you were able to flash it don't mean anything. You have to understand CWM2.x is CM6 as CWM3.x is for CM7 as much more is supported for gingerbread in CWM3.x
     
  6. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    nevermind
     
  7. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    You can flash the new recovery using ROM Manager now.
     
  8. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    Actually, it does mean something. It means that it works. I also flashed #32 with 2.5.1.2.

    The new method has nothing to do with Gingerbread, though it is coincidental that most GB ROMs going forward will use it. Team Douche has even on on record saying that they will be requiring CWM3 in the near future. However, it's not required as of build #33. That's confirmed.
     
  9. HKM

    HKM Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    26
    When you have phantom issues as posted by so many folks don't clog up the faq threads later on asking what went wrong. As /data may not be overwritten, the permission base may not be allocated and countless other issues attributed, as allocating ext4 and bootloop issue with voltage counter in kernel. Which was never linked directly to CWM but it seemed people with curtain variables are more likely to reproduce dose factors. Just cuz you can fit a fat guy in a small car does not mean it was optimized for him. When he hits a brick all and smash it see how that works out for him LOL. I know this as I live in XDA, also what is big deal about flashing 2.5.1.4? its very easy to flash it va console using flash recovery.img if that don't work then use CWM3.0.0.7 and change it to 2.5.1.4 from 2.5.1.2
     
  10. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    Is anyone else having problems running a Nandroid backup with the new clockworkmod release. Mine keeps freezing in random places. I have tried several times now. Each time I have to pull the battery.

    Also it's not because I didn't let it try long enough. I watched an entire movie this last time and it got stuck on com.htc.musicwidget.odex or something like that. After I flashed to an older version of clockworkmod I can run all the backups I want just fine.
     
  11. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    im getting the same issue.. wtf
     
  12. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    Glad it's not just me. Hopefully it'll be fixed soon.
     
  13. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but for me its bad.. it erased some of the rom.. so i have no rom.. but i freezes every time i try to install a rom from sd.. so im kinda stuck in a half working freezing cwm.. idk what to do.. my phones useless right now..
     
  14. HKM

    HKM Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    26
    How did it erase some of the rom? if you did not do full wipe? Well no worries so what you are saying is when you try to flash rom it gets stuck? if so do you have sdcard reader? you can flash older cwm or if you can't even use cwm then download the stock recovery.img and place it on your sdcard and when you go in to bootloader it will scan it and go though the process. Keep in mind if you flash stock rom it will also flash stock radio and revert root security so you will have to root again. I say before you do that you try to install the new rom though cwm again if not then go with recovery image.
     
  15. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks a lot
     
  16. andrix10

    andrix10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i flashed #30 nighty i think with 2.5.something cwm, and it worked fine, i was amazed at how faster 2.3 is then the 2.2, now i have 3.0.0.5 cwm and #35 cm7
    works fine
     
  17. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    CWM 2.x and 3.x each use a different update script that is wholly incompatible. There is no partial computability. It either works or it doesn't. When CWM3 is required for use, CWM2 will NOT work for flashing, period.

    So, please don't go around telling people that they NEED to have CWM3 for CM7, because until Cyanogen says it's needed, it's not.
     
  18. Hitch_Itch

    Hitch_Itch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    my rom mgr had the new 3.0.0.5 cwm available for update, so i updated it.
    Problem is some roms are not flash able with the new cwm. I tried to flash Re-Engineered 2.3 and it was a no go, flash was aborted and specifically said there is a conflict between my .zip and cwm
    So I guess some of the dev's need to find a fix.
    I was able to flash skyraider with no problems, So I guess its only certain roms
    Ken
     
  19. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    48
    Let me try to put things in perspective or at least the way I see it.

    Most current ROM installs and add-on zip files like kernels are based on Amen scripts (update-script). The new scripts are Edify scripts (updater-script & bin).

    All Android OS builds going forward are going to require Edify scripts so ClockWorkMod is getting ready for that

    So what works?

    Amen scripts (Old)
    Work on CWM v2
    Will not work on CMW v3

    Edify scripts (New)

    Works on CWM v3
    Will sometimes work on CWM v2

    So,

    1) ROM's and update zip's like kernels built with Amen scripts will not work on CWM v3 and will simply tell you they are not compatible with CWM v3.

    2) ROM's built with Edify scripts will more than likely not work on CWM v2 and will either fail or look like they installed but not boot

    3) Update zip's like kernels built with Edify scripts may actually work on CWM v2 since they are very simple scripts and partially built into later versions of CWM v2.

    One way to find out for sure before you try it is open the zip file and look in

    META-INF/com/google/android/

    and
    1) If it is just 1 file (update-script) then it is Amen (CWM v2)
    2) If there are 2 files (updater-script and update-binary) then it is Edify (CWM v3)

    If you are on CWM v3 and need to install something from v2 (Amen) then use ROM Manager to go back to 2.5.1.2. Then after your install you can use the ROM Manager to get back to 3.0.0.5

    My Business Sense ROM currently has a version for each but going forward I will only provide Edify scripts since it is a pain to do both. Plus I hate getting the v3 is available message every time I start ROM Manager.

    I hope this helps a little
     
  20. Hitch_Itch

    Hitch_Itch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    Nice explanation, Thanks
    The one big problem I am having is I Cannot revert back to the any 2x clockwork recovery's, no matter what 2x I try to flash I get the "AN ERROR OCCURRED FLASHING"

    Ken
     
  21. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    48
    If you have a working ROM then flashing recovery 2.5.1.2 with ROM Manager should work. Is that what is failing on you?
     
  22. Hitch_Itch

    Hitch_Itch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes
     
  23. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    ^^^

    2.5.1.2 should work. I would try this one again. It is on the bottom of the list in ROM Manager. All the others but this one failed for me with the same error message when I tried to go back to an older version.
     
  24. Hitch_Itch

    Hitch_Itch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    thanks,
    I will try it when I get back from work later this week, I wont have time tonight to mess with it

    Ken
     
  25. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    i tried flashing 2.5.1.4 from rom manager and it wouldnt do it. I just download the 2.5.1.2 zip file and loaded it via hboot....i am staying off 3.0.0.5 for now
     

Share This Page

Loading...