1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

ClockworkMod backups...


Last Updated:

  1. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi All

    I have successfully rooted and installed Cyanogenmod on two devices - a Samsung Galaxy S GT-i9000 and a Nexus 2012 (wifi).

    The Galaxy need a bit of minor tweaking (cpu usage and all animation disabled) but it feels as good as new. I made a backup with ClockworkMod, and copied it over for safe storage. Easy-peasy.

    However, the Nexus got me scratching my head. Everything runs fine, it feels super fast and so much better... but when I do a backup with ClockworkMod, the backup runs fine, but when I browse for it to copy it over, I can't find it.

    Usually, in both cases, the backup(s) is dumped into \clockworkmod\backup ... on the Galaxy it was no issue locating and copying it.

    The Nexus... well, there is a directory called \clockworkmod\ but when you browse to it (with a windows7 pc, or the stock file app on cyanogenmod) there is nothing in that directory. FWIW I also ran the same file app as root superuser, but still zippo....

    Booting back into clockworkmod, and then browsing to that directory proves that, indeed, there is a backup...

    ...and this is where I leave things for now, before I do things I may regret later :D

    Any ideas?

    Cheers!

    Ook

     

    Advertisement
    kunna6 likes this.
  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    Hmm yeah it should be in Clockworkmod/backup so I dunno what to tell you other than that you're looking in the right place. Sorry
     
  3. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    8,199
    If you go through the motions of restoring the backup in clockwork, is CMR able to find the backup?

    Maybe it knows a secret hiding spot. :D
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes, CMR is able to find the backup. I can also browse with CMR to the \clockworkmod\backup\ folder and see that there is two recent backups there....

    I just want to copy that backup to a safe location...
     
    codesplice likes this.
  5. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    8,199
    So if CMR can see it but a file browser can't, and it's the same location, it may be a permissions issue. Use a root-enabled file manager to check out the permissions on /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/.
     
    The_Librarian and funkylogik like this.
  6. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have run the default CM file manager as root, but saw nothing... I suppose I should get a proper file manager?

    Any suggestions on which will be the best to use?
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    8,199
    I'm a pretty big fan of Solid Explorer. ES File Explorer is another popular one, but I would advise against letting it connect to any cloud storage accounts.
     
  8. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Things are a bit confusing. I found the backup... but now I'm not sure where it was... :oops:

    Think my best course of action would be to RTFM and make a note of the correct paths and folders this time....

    Pointers made above was a great help in locating the backup tho.

    Will have more than enough time tomorrow to make a proper, logical investigation and report back.

    Cheers for now!

    Ook
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  9. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answer
    Found it...

    from system root :

    /data/media/clockworkmod/backup

    what a weird place.
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,279
    I've made this a sticky.

    A lot of people run into this and I can never find the last solved thread.

    Hopefully this will help.

    Well done OP! :)
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  11. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Glad to be of assistance!

    Edit : not sure if it is consistent across all devices, or it differ from device to device...
     
  12. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    By the by, do anybody know whether it is possible to mod clockworkmod to use a specific backup path?
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    Haven't used Cwm in a while and don't have it on any of my devices right now so can't check but look in advanced backup options. I'm still confused about the path yours is using now.
    As far as I remember it should save to sdcard/Clockworkmod
    I'm pretty sure that's where it saved on my s3.
    On my Nexus 7 I use twrp and it saves to sdcard/twrp
     
  14. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    8,199
    /sdcard is generally symlinked to /data/media (or /storage/emulated/0/) on devices without an actual SD card.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,248
    Ahh :thumbsupdroid:
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,279
    But due to FUSE and permissions, I've seen a number of complaints that you couldn't access the backups via the /sdcard path.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,279
    As I recall, you can't - precisely because of the security permissions that CWM wants to control.

    Of course - check me on that ok.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  18. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks for the answers guys... At least we now know where the backup skedaddled off to...
     
    codesplice likes this.
  19. Rashelita

    Rashelita New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    How do u get to it when ur ZTE wrap is in activation mode always?
     

Share This Page

Loading...